We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and relaxing”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Riverland< South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and relaxing”
Reviewed November 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Deer Lodge for a total of 9 nights at the beginning of our 5 week holiday in Canada. I , too, was worried at our choice after reading some of the reviews on this website. However there really was no need for concern. We found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly. The tower room comfortable and the food a highlight. The fact that there was no TV in our room was not an issue as we then had the opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests and made some great friends in the process. There was also complimentary internet, a pool table and in house laundry facilities. Initially we thought the price of the wine and food excessive however as we continued on our holiday throughout Canada we soon came to appreciate the excellent value and superb cuisine on offer at Deer Lodge. We used Lake Louise as an ideal base to explore the surrounding areas of Banff, Canmore, Field and Golden. If you are not adverse to getting out there and doing some walking/hiking then there is plenty to keep you occupied around Lake Louise.

  • Liked — The location and the cuisine.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to mix with other guests and the Lodge and Lake Louise are worth a stay longer than one night.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    454
    343
    267
    235
See reviews for
309
887
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

This was a special holiday for us, not only was it our 5 year anniversary but it was also to be the holiday where we got engaged. I don't think I could have picked a more perfect spot than Deer Lodge and Lake Louise. The accomodation whilst being small was ample as we were hardly in the room. The food was superb and the staff were very friendly as we found with all Canadian hospitality. Transport to Lake Louise ski area was excellent runningin the morning and picking up late afternoon.
The location being a short walk down the road to Lake Louise and the Chateau was perfect for a romantic setting. We loved every minute of our stay and would recommend deer lodge to anyone. The hot tub is something else. After a day on the slopes it was well needed and overlooking the mountain was just awesome. Great sitting in it in the hot steam whilst it snowed...beautiful. Check out our photos to give justice to this amazing place.

  • Liked — Hot tub overlooking the mountains
  • Disliked — Room is on the small side
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank markdanshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I had been recommended to stay here by somehow who had, so expected it to be good. I did read some very poor reviews on this site just before going away, and enquired about upgrading from a Lodge Room to a Heritage, and I think this was definitely a good idea. Lake Louise didn't do much for us other than surround us in Japanese tourists, and we got very wet as we walked to the end of the lake - it rained ALL day!! So when we checked in to the hotel (and the front desk staff were helpful!) we found it to be extremely comfortable, very unusual but really lovely, and very warm and cosy. We dried out quickly after getting wet! There are no TVs in the rooms, but we found this gave us more opportunity to explore the hotel. We did our laundry, checked a few things on the (complimentary) internet, and I played my husband at pool, and nearly won!! Ha ha! We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the food to be extremely good, and reasonable value (although we did go for a less expensive option) - the food was excellent and very tasty.

Personally I don't think I'd want to stay in Lake Louise longer than one night (unless I was skiing) but would definitely stay here again. A very unusual hotel, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have happy memories! :o)

  • Liked — Where would you like me to start?!
  • Disliked — The lack of lift - lots of stairs with a heavy suitcase!
  • Tips/Secrets — There are a lot of stairs so don't go if you are unsteady on your feet or disabled.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowflake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

My wife and I stayed in one of the lodge rooms for a total of 13 nights as we hiked around the various trails in the adjacent parks. The facility was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were comfortable. The decor did, at times, remind me of something out of "The Shining," but that just added to the unique experience here. The location was ideal for park exploration and this hotel is a excellent value for what we paid. The only drawback may be the noise that can transmit from room to room at times. If you are looking for a comfortable, unique residence and a good value while exploring the Canadian Rockies, and are not particularly fussy about room size, having television, or creaking floorboards, Deer Lodge is an outstanding choice for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KMLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Maybe some of you just have bad karma! We booked one night in room 24 with a king sized bed, and loved the room. It was quiet and private, and the heavy curtains meant a nice sleep in. No TV was good and probably helped with a good night's sleep (who needs "CSI" on holiday anyway?). Being very strict vegetarians, we didn't eat in the restaurant but bought food at the convenience store near the highway, and made ourselves dinner in the room. We largely sat on the balcony drinking tequila and feeding the birds with biscuits. As we were only there one night, we didn't use the facilities, but we found the staff courteous and helpful. The room was just the right temperature and the coffee facilities were useful. The only criticism I have is no exhaust fan in the bathroom - shower pressure and temperature were excellent, and my wife made full use of the bath, hair dryer, etc. We're Australians, and have travelled all over the world - the Rockies compare well with the Himalayas at Manali in Himachal Pradesh (though the hotel there was only $16 a night, but that's India). Would have to think long and hard to remember a better room and hotel at the price. If you want five star, stay at the Fairmont, but for our money, this was the best, and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Comfortable and a good sleep
  • Tips/Secrets — Love the Rockies
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Neumeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

W e have just returned from our first trip to the Canadian Rockies. I was worried sick about my choice of the Deer Lodge for our first week, after reading some of the reviews on this site, but we found the Lodge to be friendly, warm and welcoming. Yes the lodge rooms are small, but clean, and as we were staying for seven nights we upgraded to one of the heritage rooms which was really nice and again we found it was clean. The food was first rate and the dinning room staff were excellent. The location is great and compared to the huge Fairmont Chateau, which during the day is always full of coach parties, is peaceful and ideal for a restful holiday. If you do not mind your hotels a bit old and a bit creaky, but with friendly welcoming staff then this could be the place for you!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — size of some rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a heritage room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank S.gourlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

This is a great location but this hotel thinks that is all you need. Our Lodge room had just enough room for a double bed, one wooden chair, and a small desk. No telephone, TV, although there is one tucked away in the games room which is located at the back of the hotel's basement. The furniture was old, not antique, just worn out. Complimentary drinks were non-existent, not even jugs/flasks in the bar/lounge. For food there is an expensive restaurant but don't expect a hearty meal after a long walk round the lake and countryside. There is a bar menu but they don't seem to let new-comers know that. If you want to visit Lake Louise then do it as a day-trip from Banff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped, worn-out room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greyadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing