We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Fawlty Towers”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“More like Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Stayed here for three nights in Sep 06. We booked a double room but were allocated a twin one. Spoke to reception and this was put right fairly quickly. Firstly when we arrived in the new room I had to repair the toilet as it was constantly flushing and water was flowing in the pan all the time. The room was dirty and the toilet had evidence of the previous occupants use! There was no TV or phone in the room. I emptied the box of tissues on my first night and these were not replaced by housekeeping despite leaving them in the middle of the floor so it was obvious that the box was empty. Drinking glasses left in the room were not cleaned or replaced throughout the stay and towels not replaced either despite the hotel being told that they needed changing. Room was not vacummed either, beds made up poorly. At £150 a night this place is a rip off, do yourselves a favour either spend a bit more and stay at the larger hotel up the road or stay in Banff and drive to Lake Louise it's only about 40 minutes away. Did not use the catering on site as the menu looked too restricted.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gnatfish1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    463
    354
    273
    244
See reviews for
317
913
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Front desk staff lacked training and experience. Billing discrepancies we are still trying to get straightened out. Charged for two 3-course meals we did not have and charged for two full breakfasts but only permitted continental breakfasts. Inquires were always met with "you'll have to come back for that." Phone call to clear up the discrepancies were just transferred back and forth from the Head office to Deer Lodge front desk .
Rooms in the Heritage wing are small, but nice view. Thin walls. No TV, radio, coffee pot, etc., but entertaining listening to your neighbors until you fall asleep. Based on the number of high caliber accommodations in the area, I'm not certain I would recommend the Deer Lodge.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around. Try one of the high caliber accommodations in the area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank distances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Durham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Just arrived back in the UK from a superb trip to Canada, but this place will stick in the memory long and hard. Having been to Lake Louise two years previously we had seen the Deer Lodge on the drive up to the lake and thought it looked an ideal place to stay. Oh how appearances can be deceptive. We were placed on the third floor of the main lodge and having no lift I had to haul four large cases up three flights of very creaky stairs. Probably disturbing everyone in their rooms whilst doing so, as the walls are that thin. Thought it couldn't get any worse, but then I opened the door to our room. There wasn't enough room to swing a cat it was that pokey. Travelling with my parents they were also amazed at how tiny the rooms were, and my father nearly knocked himself out turning round near the sloping roof.

Basic would be and understatement here. We were aware that there was no TV or phone in the room, but no coffee/tea making facilities, hairdryer or ironing board is a total joke. The atmosphere of the place is like a mausoleum and at any moment when having a conversation you feel like a librarian type member of staff will ask you to be quite.

Tried to get to sleep with the constant noise coming from other rooms and the hot tub area, as our room faced this part of the hotel. Was so pleased to here that the American couples son in the next room was doing well in college but at midnight I just wanted to go to sleep.

To put a final nail in this hotels coffin, breakfast was a complete disgrace. Asked for scrambled egg on toast, but instead got an omelette on wet bread. My wife is still waiting for her apple juice to this very day that the inept waiter didn't bring her. The food itself was tasteless and I'm pleased we only had one night in this place.

Having drove through the Rockies twice now my advice would be to either stay some place else in Lake Louise or have an extra night in Banff and drive up from there.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay some place else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank bumps100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at the Deer Lodge on 13th and 14th July 2006 in a Heritage Room. There was nothing wrong with the room at all. It was a fairly basic but a good size room with coffee/tea making facilities, TV and verandah plus a nice bathroom. BUT, it was not the room we had booked and no reason for this was offered by the front desk staff.
Front desk staff - young men who were totally indifferent and not at all welcoming.
Dining Room staff - over-poweringly enthusiastic. Even at breakfast we felt as if we were at the Stock Exchange - all the staff chasing around.
FOOD - EXCELLENT!! We cannot fault the buffet breakfasts and the wonderful evening meals. The wine list is excellent.
Overall, given that we had especially booked one of your most expensive rooms, we have to say that we were, on the whole, disappointed. Having stayed at The Hilton, Calgary the previous night (which was not as expensive as the Deer Lodge) we felt that we had definitely down-graded to the Deer Lodge!!
Finally, we completed the questionnaire in the room - why ask for our home address/phone number and email address if you do not intend to respond!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are booked in for B&B check your voucher - only buffet is included! We had to pay double on first morning because we hadn't read the voucher and FOS had not told us when they gave us the vouchers.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Exonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Have just returned from trip to the Rockies, staying two nights at the Deer lodge. Hotel is in a great setting, close to the lake, with fabulous views from the patio and hot tub. However rooms are very small and simple (no T.V., hairdryer, phone), and a little noisy at night, both from corridor and room above.

The most disappointing aspect was the standard of service in the lounge/bar and restaurant. We had a extremely slow breakfast with staff who seemed disorganised and indifferent. The food when we got it was poor too. The evening meals were better but again the service was very slow, we waited 30 minutes to even get a drink after being seated.

Overall we would advise peoplethinking of staying here, to ask for larger room, and eat elsewhere.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

Our room was small, but this suited us since we were there for only one night. Reception guys were very helpful & friendly. Location is excellent for walks in & around Lake Louise. Good food & great atmosphere next door at the Fairmont Chateau for both dinner and breakfast (in the 24hr Deli').

  • Liked — Location - close to Lake Louise
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — If staying for longer than one night, invest in a larger room.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

2 nights at Deer Lodge as part of our 3 weeks in the Rockies.
Great location, just off the Lake, far better that the "Chateau", mobbed by anyone and everyone.
We stayed in the Heritage wing, the rooms are much larger (we heard some guests muttering how small their rooms were in the original section).
The bar/patio was perfect to sit, drink and eat - as was the hot tub on the roof, after a long hike!
Everything all nicely presented, with attentive, helpful service from the staff.
If your interested in hikes our "top 2" for the entire holiday were the Sentinal Pass trail from Moraine Lake and Plain of the Six Glaciers (right to the very end!!) taking in Lake Agnes and the Big Beehive on the way!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank AIBNORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,328 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
707 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing