We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Witshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a beautiful building in a great location but sadly that is all it has going for it - there are lots of steps and stairs and no elevators and staff ( apart from one called Chris) were not very friendly or helpful. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to eat at the hotel and as it is a long way from anywhere else we said we would. We were booked into the restaurant but when we arrived for our meal we saw that there was a choice of places to eat and that we had been booked in the very expensive one. We decided to eat in the bar where prices were reasonable but had to wait for 15 mins for anyone to aknowledge thta we were there. Several staff told us that the barman would be there soon but he never appeared. Eventually Chris got us a table but we still had to wait a long time for a mediocre meal - Chris aknowledged the very poor service and gave a free dessert - great but a great shame that all the staff could not be like him. I would not recommend this as a venue unless you like stairs and long waits.

Room Tip: All are on first floor or above with no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    442
    337
    260
    229
See reviews for
301
861
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buckingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My only complaint about this hotel was the lack of lift but Reception arranged for our bags to be brought to our room so no problem. We had 2 of the heritage rooms which were quite charming. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was fabulously comfortable. I must give a special star to our chambermaid Hannah who not only kept our rooms to this high standard but left us handwritten poems and little notes daily. It was a lovely touch.
We enjoyed the hot tub with its lovely views, the flowers and wildlife all around the hotel. We also enjoyed the meals taken at the hotel, particularly the varied buffet breakfast. Most of the staff wre excellent, friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, only a couple of minutes to Lake Louise itself, and not too far from the facilities of the village. Everything lived up to expectations.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our heritage room but you will have to carry your bags or ask Reception for help with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding you recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad we were able to provide a personal touch to your room and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent one night, booked by out travel agent. Its location could hardly be bettered; very near he lake and with wonderful views. It looks the part - most of it is a genuine old lodge and, as the description makes clear, it's in character, so basic in some ways - no TV in bedroom is fine, but no carpet? Service was friendly but not 100% efficient; for example our advance request for non-feather pillows and quilt had got lost. The bathroom fittings were sub-standard - loose sink plug, no knob for changing flow from shower to bath, cistern flush linkage ropey. Lighting was dingy - intentional for a period feel no doubt, but I think could be brightert. .Dinner was good but expensive and slow; breakfast wasn't so good. See restaurant review.

Room Tip: Rooms in the more modern section seemed to be better. Ours was a "heritage" tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noretiredyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

If you choose Lake Louise, I reckon its probably best to choose to stay here.

We had two night in a comfortable room in a really homey environment.

Not slick in any way but nice and comfortable. A while since I stayed in a place with only a common tv in a lounge but with complimentary Wifi throughout; so what?

No lift. Help is willingly offered with bags. Ask for ground floor if you need it.

Really nice lounges and games room with proper (no fee) pool/snooker and foosball. Inclusive car parking.

Breakfast 20 dollars or so but very substantial indeed; and virtually obligatory as in Lake Louise there are no diners or shops that you could call shops. I suppose you could walk 3km uphill to the scenic tea house...nah!

Two stables right next door...one lovely looking one on the prime roadside site run by Brewsters and one flexible, very helpful independent tucked away behind; Timberland Tours.

Lake Louise is a 500m flat walk away. Very nice. Also you are only a 15 min drive from Moraine Lake so can breakfast at Deer Lodge and beat the crowds there.

A proper Lodge. Use it or lose it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank whoamiwhereami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our games room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is very close to the lake

Arrived to be told 2 bookings had been made by our tour operator and it was our problem to sort it out. This really annoyed me only after a lot pushing did the receptionist say she would speak to the manager to see if the Deer Lodge would deal with it. Passing reception later the receptionist did say the Deer Lodge would deal with it.

We booked one of larger rooms which was comfortable but the 2 double beds where a little on the small size. A fridge in the room would have been nice. i

The buffet at breakfast was only filled up when you asked for something that had run out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our trip round the Rockies. I was apprehensive after reading reviews on Tripadvisor but enjoyed our stay. Rooms and corridors generally dark, but atmospheric and comfortable. Fire in the sitting room welcoming - it was cool and wet when we arrived. It's a short walk to the lake with stunning views. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar each night and enjoyed the meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Only a few hundred yards up fro Lake Louise this elderly hotel is quite practical for a one night visit. The hotel does really show its age in the rooms and corridors although the public areas are pleasant and comfortable. In our room there appeared only one electrical socket which then had multiple extensions and the bathroom made mention that because of its ancient charm it was not advisable to use the taps or toilet when showering as cut the supply to the shower. Coming from where we have 16th century hotels with charm and modern plumbing spending money on an upgrade would seem to be advisable. Good restaurant for dinner and a good, but not included, breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ea217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing