We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 2 night stay”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“our 2 night stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the outside this Hotel looks very charming. The hot tub on the roof was what had drawn us to it in the first place. The views of the mountains from it were amazing and beautiful! The hot tub was nice and warm and cozy. Unfortunately our room was another story! It was so small and the bed was all worn out and my husband had to put the quilt under his side just to keep him from falling off his side, he woke up very stiff from the un even older bed. It was very uncomfortable, with only a small window and no air conditioning. It was extremely hot and claustrophobic. Also our room had a slanted roof which we kept hitting our heads on too.. Not cozy or welcoming at all. The only saving grace was the game room and the restaurant. We spent time there instead of our prison cell of a small room with NO T.V!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony with doors that open. It will be costly but much more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    473
    361
    276
    253
See reviews for
328
932
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have always had great experiences with CRMR (Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts) - lovely top notch cuisine at 'Cilantro' The Ranche' (now 'The Lake House') in Calgary where we held our beautiful wedding in 2012. We had somewhat high expectations of this historic lodge and it really fell flat. Our main disappointments:

1. The room was extremely small causing us to feel physically claustrophobic
2. The lodge restaurant had incredibly poor service (server came back to our table to clarify order 4 times) and burnt inedible food. They served the wrong items, ingredients missing from plate, and didn't even have Coke (and this was May Long Weekend where you would expect many guests).
3. Nothing special - the "library" was a bookcase of romance novels left behind from guest, old outdoor hot tub not a draw for us, joke complimentary coffee/tea in the morning

We expected much more from CRMR. Pretty disappointing for us. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Request the largest room they have or a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We would like to apologize for your experience with dinner in the restaurant as that is certainly not the food and beverage standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future where we can offer you the dining experience we are known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in a Heritage Room which was fun, it us like going back in time staying there & worthwhile in this type of room, just a walk away from Lake Louise & Fairmont hotel. The lake was frozen when we were there at the end May & masses of tourist being bused into lake but not noticeable when we were staying but believe in season they have over 1500 visitors a day to the lake in coaches alone. Good food in Bistro at hotel as not much else near. We subsequently stayed at their sister hotel Buffalo Mountain Lodge in Banff, lots was wrong, noisy room with plumbing so were moved, noisy guests as weddings going on & they decided to use hot tub after midnight although shut! Cold buffet breakfast food. Have to say that the staff were amazing especially Mark at front desk, I spoke to on duty manager & explained our complaints & she cleared our food bill as compensation. Would stay there again in Tunnel Mountain Road, good shuttle to town centre, pleasant staff & should have buffet breakfast sorted soon as this is a new service. Should have better security to stop noisy guests ruining people's stays.

Room Tip: Heritage room at Deer Lodge, room away from hot tub & reception at Buffalo Mountain Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Deer Lodge is located just before you reach the uber-iconic, uber-expensive Fairmont Chateau's parking lot. We dropped in at the Deer Lodge - without a reservation - and asked about room availability. Not only did they have a room, but they upgraded us from a double to a large suite at no additional charge. They even arranged for us to have a balcony looking out toward the mountains. The entire staff, from front desk to restaurant staff, was a pleasure to deal with.
The Lodge has a spacious and extremely nicely appointed sitting lounge as well as an on-site restaurant serving very affordable and delicious regional dishes.
The Deer Lodge is DEFINITELY the place to stay at Lake Louise. Literally a five minute walk from Lake Louise itself .... without the expense of Fairmont prices!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipjigpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of dining in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The whole presentation at Deer Lodge was an attempt to make one feel as though they were on a hunting trip. Strange dishes on the menu, and stranger reactions from digestion. Service was condescending, and no hot shower in the morning. They did refund some of the room fee, and provide a breakfast for the inconvenience, but again, one was made to feel second class, as only certain items from the menu were allowed, I couldn't have the fresh squeezed orange juice?? Not going there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you see your room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived at this hotel fairly late in the day and were given a room on the top floor. As we made our way up to our room we found that there wasn't a lift (not pointed out by reception) and the room was barely large enough to swing the proverbial cat in; in fact the bathroom was so small that the basin was in the bedroom and the bath was a reduced size. There was no suitcase stand in the bedroom - there wasn't room for one and we opened the cases on the bed. Overnight we found that the mattress was poor quality or worn out. As we were only staying one night we didn't say anything about the room but as we were leaving I told the reception that we must have been given the worst room in the hotel. She said that they had only been half full the previous night and would have tried to help us if we had complained. This was strange because as we were checking out at 11am, another family were checking in and were also given a top floor room but they complained because the husband had a bad back. They were told that they'd have to wait till 4pm for an alternative because none of the other rooms were ready!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour planned through Canadian Affair. Room was tiny and a twin when we had booking confirmation for a double. When we went to ask for a double we were told it would be one hundred dollars more, we declined as only staying for a night. The room and halls smelled musty although appeared clean apart from a few crushed bugs on walls. There was a warning about scalding risk due to the plumbing the note stated this was part of the properties charm. We decided not to wash our hair due to this as water was pretty unpredictable but when we asked at reception for a shower cap you would have thought we were asking for water to be turned into wine! Also the restaurant was overpriced and as you are a taxi ride from the town they really have you by the short and curlies. When we went for afternoon drink the young chap was very pleasant however we had another server for our evening meal who when I asked what was in my dinner had no idea...pretty poor over priced...wouldn't stay again!!

Room Tip: Choose another part of the hotel..have since been made aware there is a newer section however would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Deer Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Deer Lodge Manager dlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,348 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Property: Deer Lodge
Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing