We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski weekend”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Deer during the Lake Louise World Cup weekend. Loved being able to cross-country ski right from the hotel doorstep, it's a perfect access point for the Moraine Lake, Fairview, Tramline and Lake Louise Loop trails. Incredible ski conditions for early December.
Beautiful, rustic lodge with very well appointed rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ194742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The main benefit of the hotel is that fact that it's right beside Lake Louise - less than 3 minutes walk. It has a quaint, old style but the rooms are really in need of an upgrade. We got a room right near the entrance so it was a bit noise with foot traffic cars. I asked the at the reception desk for another room but was told it they were fully booked and she couldn't do anything. This was even though many people still hasn't checked in yet - as I saw later.

Because the hotel is so old the plumbing and heating have problems. The water is boiling in the sink and shower and you can't regulate the temperature in the room.

I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you want to be beside Lake Louise and can't afford The Fairmont Hotel - which is right beside and much, much nicer. Even the guide book pre-warned us that it's probably better to stay in Banff and just drive up than spend a huge amount of money on a hotel room here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 485WilliamB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed early October and had a lovely time at the lodge. Lodge has plenty of charm and character with great fireplace room. The restaurant is a log building and had a lovely meal in the dining room. Amenities were few: no tv, no elevator but we knew that coming in - but amazing views from the hot tub - but we spent most of our time hiking around the area. Location is ideal being a few walking minutes to lake Louise. Not too many people visiting the area and worked well for us not wanting to be with the crowds and a larger hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msirois05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of the roof top hot tub. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and had next to no sleep on both nights due to the creaking floorboards and proximity to the main staircase, which also creaked and you could hear every word of every person coming up the stairs. For whatever reason the people above me were walking about all night on the creaking floorboards. When I checked out I was told oh yes we're closing down now so all maintenance is done now. In my opinion it should be better maintained throughout the year to avoid problems like this. They also need soundproofing! On the plus side the lounge area with open fire was lovely. My room was very nice (apart from its location). It was nice size and had a comfortable bed. There are many stairs/steps to negotiate so if you're less able you will need to ask for help, which is available.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunflowerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. I do apologize that you found your room to be noisy, I can assure you we are continually working on upgrading our guest rooms. Guests are welcome to speak with us during the course of their stay, so issues raised may be rectified and hopefully change their experience. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our original room was on the ground floor (room 127) and whilst being perfectly fine and clean, was certainly small and looked out to the car park. When we enquired if any other rooms were available the very helpful reception staff offered us one of the renovated Heritage rooms (room 32) at no extra charge and this was a dramatic difference both in terms of size and furnishings, and with the tremendous view to the mountains.

These rooms however are expensive, so I would check and see if there are any offers when you book.

As mentioned above, the Heritage room was spacious, and also clean. When we arrived the room was quite cold and changing the thermostat did not appear to have any effect, so the front desk asked for this to be checked and the next day the room was actually too warm(!). The easy solution was to keep the patio window sightly open at night. Not a big deal for us as we already had received the free upgrade, but worth noting at least in our room the heating control was slightly temperamental.

On the balcony, the view was amazing. Only two points to note was that the outside walls could do with a fresh coat of paint, and the mosquito sliding door was very difficult to move.

We ate in the restaurant for our first night and for one breakfast. The choice and quality of food was good, but our steaks were look-warm although well cooked. We brought this to the attention of the very attentive staff and received 10% of our final bill.

The room adjacent to the restaurant was a nice place to relax, with a large fireplace hosting a large imitation log fire (it looked like a gas fire on closer inspection, but works really well and when you first enter the room you will be fooled!).

In summary, the basic rooms are pricy for what you get, but I could not fault the staff who were always very helpful without exception. If you can afford it, go for the Heritage rooms with a view.
As a comparison, the Farmont hotel which is only a few minutes walk away is considerably more expensive, but I would recommend dining in their downstairs sports bar which has great food.

Room Tip: Stay in a Heritage room if you can find a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is lovely stopover very near Lake Louise itself. It was, however, built as a hunting lodge and the decor reflects this. Pay the extra for a Heritage Room if possible. The hot tub was wonderful after a day out and about, the staff extremely helpful and the food was excellent.

1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This old hotel is the nearest to the lake, barring the enormous Fairmont, and so is in an ideal position for a sunrise or sunset visit. The rooms are quirky and comfortably, although basically, furnished, with plenty of creaking floorboards. It is close to the main lake road so traffic starts early and finishes late. The restaurant and lounge serve very good food. The rooftop hot tub is worth a visit, even though it has car park and mountain, rather than lake, views. The hotel is not cheap, but is far less busy and institutional than the Fairmont, and you pay for the proximity to the lake.

Room Tip: We had a room in the tower, which had a view of the road and mountain - not quiet but light and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in the restaurants. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
14.3 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $93 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing