We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a setting”
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a night just before Christmas 2012. Lots of snow; a winter wonderland. Good spot for winter activities that is less expansive than staying in the nearby Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise (and is a 5-minute walk away). If you are skiing or taking advantage of the activities on and around Lake Louise, it is a nice base. We did not try the restaurant unfortunately, as we have heard it is good. The room is on the rustic side, but for the price in that location it was fine. Hallways are a little noisy due to wood construction. Would be wonderful in the

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mr_kuiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and for us it was enough. Don't get me wrong we loved this hotel but if you are not skiers there is not a lot to do. We came here to see snow and boy, did we get snow! It is breathtakingly beautiful and I didn't tire of looking at the scenery. It is a very short walk walk to the Fairmont which has a bit more to do there..ice skating, snow shoeing etc. We ate at the restaurant at Deer Lodge and the food was wonderful especially the Christmas dinner. It is a lovely quaint hotel and if you are into snow sports or relaxing then this is the place for you.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Paul_and_Marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently worked out west, and decided to stay at the deer lodge before starting my work at a close hotel. The location is perfect. you dont have to spend the crazy amount to stay right on the lake with the Fairmont, when you can stay a 2 minute walk away, maybe even less at this hotel. The room that I stayed in with my mother, had 2 single beds. It was quite small really, only had the beds and the bathroom and a desk. But then i went over to my uncles room and saw how big it was. It had a nice little sitting room, and a lovely queen bed. So it all depends on what room you are looking for and how much you want to spend. Dont get me wrong, i loved our room, it was cute, but if you want something bigger it is available. We ate breakfast at the hotel as well, and it was not included, but was delicious. I had a meal that had a whole bunch of different meats to try. Yum. One thing to remember is that they always have coffee available free in a different room, so dont waste your money buying it at the restaurant. also, one of my favourite things is the hot tub. It is located on the roof outside and gives you a view of the mountains and lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a gem! Surrounded by the proverbial "Winter Wonderland" we were shown to our authentic 1920's Tower Room. No lifts but a lovely staffer bounded up the stairs with our 2 big bags. And speaking of staff we were attended to at every turn by excellent people - the 3 who looked after us were all from Australia. We parents in Australia have done a good job with our exodus of 20 something's who have migrated to Canada for the Winter work! Thanks Samantha & the boys from Adelaide. Gavin, you're doing an excellent job at Deer Lodge. Whatever you're doing, keep it up!
The rooftop spa in the minus 10 temps was a treat as well.
PS Don't come here to watch TV, there isn't any. Come for the ambience, the charm & the snow!
Cheers
Brenda & Michael Connelly

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank coolyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay. The price for accommodation was fairly high but in line with other hotels in Lake Louise. The roof top hot tub was superb and we were lucky enough to enjoy it to ourselves. We enjoyed an evening in the lounge area and ate in the bar area rather than in the main restaurant. The food options were okay with a nice informal setting. In hindsight we probably would have rather spent another night in Banff rather than in Lake Louise but in general the hotel was really nice.

Of note (which has already been mentioned) your card is charged $100 on check in to cover damages etc. This is not a financial issue for us as we know we would get it back but it does kind of leave a sour taste in your mouth when you are checking into a Lodge like this. If I was checking into a budget motel that has all kinds staying there then I could understand why this may be required, but for a decent Lodge in a National Park – come on? Really?

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

About the only thing this place has going for it is location. It's right next door to the Fairmont which is right next door to Lake Louise. Otherwise, it's old and tired. And expensive. No bell service--had to drag our luggage up and down stairs. We had paid extra for one of the "renovated" rooms--I can't imagine what one of the unrenovated rooms would be like and I don't want to know. Breakfast, which is not included in the expensive room rate, was good. I wouldn't stay in Lake Louise again, I'd make it a day trip from Banff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We appreciated all feedback as it allows us to continually improve on our offering. We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, specifically that there was no offer to assist with your luggage as this is standard protocol at the lodge. We would encourage guests to speak with a hotel representative when booking your room to ensure the room booked does meet your requirements. Regardless we would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager at Deer Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Deer Lodge. The location is superb, only a short walk from Lake Louise. The building has lots of character. We were given a spacious room with mountain view. It was quiet and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was extensive with a wide aray of items on the hot and cold buffet. The evening meals were also very good and again there was a wide choice on the menu. Dinner was available from early evening the lounge which particularly suited us. The lounge is in two parts, an area for relaxing in arm chairs and a dinning area with proper tables and chairs, every bit a good as the Dinning Room which opened a little later.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seefeld_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the lodge including dining with us on site. We do have a Lounge and Dining Room on site which serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We hope to welcome you back again to stay in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager for Deer Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
944 reviews
1.4 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $93 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing