We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Personalized, Perfect!”

Great Divide Nature Interpretation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff area. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpretive guides. In summer, full day and half day private trips. In winter, half day group and private trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Joel took my family of 5 on a half day winter snowshoeing tour -- what a blast we had! From the trip planning stage, where I asked a lot of questions - to coordinating the night before, to account for the snow -- Joel was incredibly communicative and friendly.

On the actual hike, Joel took us "off the beaten path" where we saw not a soul and had the snowy forest to ourselves! He was able to keep everyone in our group (8 years old -40ish) entertained yet constantly learning about the forest around us.

The icing on the cake was the hot tea and cocoa and absolutely delicious energy bars we were able to enjoy midway through the hike.

Cannot recommend Joel more -- you can't leave Banff without spending some time on his guided hike!

Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks, Fran. I'm glad that the power bars and the edible lichens were a big hit, and I hope the "enchanted" forest we explored remains a good family memory. That forest near Lake Louise is definitely a special spot to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided hike"
in 32 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 25 reviews
"ten peaks"
in 36 reviews
"day hike"
in 23 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 12 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 26 reviews
"canadian rockies"
in 40 reviews
"animal tracks"
in 14 reviews
"herbal tea"
in 7 reviews
"snowshoeing adventure"
in 5 reviews
"stanley glacier"
in 10 reviews
"the lake louise area"
in 16 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 4 reviews
"mountain goats"
in 6 reviews
"great company"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 10 reviews
"spectacular scenery"
in 5 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

I just had my second outing with Joel and once again it was an amazing experience. Our first trip was a family hiking trip a couple of summer's ago. This time around we were with friends and our kids and went out with Joel for a snowshoe tour. He is so knowledgeable and engages all ages. I highly recommend experiencing the beauty of Lake Louise with Joel. An unforgettable experience for the whole family in the summer and the winter!

Thank trishtravels2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks Tricia. It was a pleasure to take your friends and your daughter out into the landscape. We'll see you again, I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a FABULOUS private snow shoe nature interpretation tour with Joel. It was a highlight of our month long snow holiday and I couldn’t recommend it enough. If you are interested in nature and off the path snow shoeing (the real kind) then this is your tour.

Thank MelbournePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thanks, A! It was a pleasure to guide you two through the "snow forest," and I'm glad that the landscape and the experience was a real highlight for you and L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We went snow shoeing with Joel on Sunday Feb. 19th. It was very cold that day - about 6 degrees F when we got to the parking lot at Lake Louise. Joel was very thorough in his prep - even had extra gear for people. Once we got going he even traded his mittens for my gloves - so gallant!! He is super knowledgeable and enthusiastic. And he carried tea, hot chocolate and homemade power bars in his pack for us - what's not to love!! We can't say enough good things about our experience. We highly, highly recommend Great Divide Day Hikes!!

Thank Pyewacket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Fantastic best describes our experience with Joel as we headed out on snowshoes into the wilderness this past weekend . We had participated last year with his wife Nadine, and based on our great experience with her,decided to try it again.
Spectacular scenery,trails off the beaten path and Joel sharing his knowledge of all things ecology and nature ,make for a wonderful time spent outdoors.
Of course i must mention our pit stop for hot tea/hot chocolate and the very delicious home made power bars.:)
Thank you Joel for helping us to create great memories of our time spent in Lake Louise!!!

Thank wendywengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you, Wendy, and we look forward to our guided hikes together in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Divide Nature Interpretation also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Great Divide Nature Interpretation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing