We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic adventure with Joel and Great Divide!”

Great Divide Nature Interpretation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff area. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpretive guides. In summer, full day and half day private trips. In winter, half day group and private trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 1, 2018

I just had my second outing with Joel and once again it was an amazing experience. Our first trip was a family hiking trip a couple of summer's ago. This time around we were with friends and our kids and went out with Joel for a snowshoe tour. He is so knowledgeable and engages all ages. I highly recommend experiencing the beauty of Lake Louise with Joel. An unforgettable experience for the whole family in the summer and the winter!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank trishtravels2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks Tricia. It was a pleasure to take your friends and your daughter out into the landscape. We'll see you again, I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided hike"
in 37 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 29 reviews
"ten peaks"
in 38 reviews
"day hike"
in 25 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"canadian rockies"
in 41 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 27 reviews
"herbal tea"
in 7 reviews
"learning experience"
in 4 reviews
"extra gear"
in 4 reviews
"carpenter ants"
in 4 reviews
"learned how"
in 4 reviews
"stanley glacier"
in 10 reviews
"the lake louise area"
in 18 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 4 reviews
"great hike"
in 16 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a FABULOUS private snow shoe nature interpretation tour with Joel. It was a highlight of our month long snow holiday and I couldn’t recommend it enough. If you are interested in nature and off the path snow shoeing (the real kind) then this is your tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MelbournePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thanks, A! It was a pleasure to guide you two through the "snow forest," and I'm glad that the landscape and the experience was a real highlight for you and L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We went snow shoeing with Joel on Sunday Feb. 19th. It was very cold that day - about 6 degrees F when we got to the parking lot at Lake Louise. Joel was very thorough in his prep - even had extra gear for people. Once we got going he even traded his mittens for my gloves - so gallant!! He is super knowledgeable and enthusiastic. And he carried tea, hot chocolate and homemade power bars in his pack for us - what's not to love!! We can't say enough good things about our experience. We highly, highly recommend Great Divide Day Hikes!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Pyewacket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Fantastic best describes our experience with Joel as we headed out on snowshoes into the wilderness this past weekend . We had participated last year with his wife Nadine, and based on our great experience with her,decided to try it again.
Spectacular scenery,trails off the beaten path and Joel sharing his knowledge of all things ecology and nature ,make for a wonderful time spent outdoors.
Of course i must mention our pit stop for hot tea/hot chocolate and the very delicious home made power bars.:)
Thank you Joel for helping us to create great memories of our time spent in Lake Louise!!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you, Wendy, and we look forward to our guided hikes together in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018

A three hour journey discovering breath-taking natural snow sculptures, setting fresh tracks through the fir and spruce and Joel sharing secrets of the forest, made for the perfect back country adventure only minutes from Lake Louise. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank dwcolorado2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Hi Doug,

Thanks for your positive review, and I'm really glad that you, L, and N. really enjoyed yourselves.

Cheers,

-Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Divide Nature Interpretation also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Great Divide Nature Interpretation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing