We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful outing”

Great Divide Day Hikes
Ranked #3 of 5 Tours in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpreters. In summer, full day and half day walks/hikes. In winter, half day snowshoeing trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful outing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Joel took us on a wonderful snowshoeing trip through the woods. He's very knowledgeable and passionate about the mountain environment and all the amazing creatures that live there. Our future experiences in this wonderful place will be all the richer for what we learned on our outing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

PS - I would have written this even without the tasty hot chocolate and snacks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful snow adventure!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We took a private tour with Nadine and had a wonderful time. She is knowledgable and lots of fun. I'd highly recommend this experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snowshoeing in Lake Louise”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We decided to try snowshoeing as a new way to enjoy the mountains in winter, and this was a fantastic experience. Nadine was our guide and she was very professional, polite and helpful. She was very engaging and knowledgeable about the local mountain areas and natural landscape. She made special effort to learn everyone's names and was very accommodating to everyone's abilities and any special needs (allergies, etc.). The homemade powerbars were delicious and the hot chocolate was a great treat! The booking process was organized and quick, and they personally call you to ensure there are no unanswered questions or concerns before your hike. Nadine even made special effort to make sure everyone in the group got great photo opportunities. They were also ready to offer equipment or clothing to group members who didn't have the right gear. If you are thinking of trying snowshoeing in the Rockies, this is a great way to get started!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tristan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was one of the more tame tours of our trip, so I enjoyed it more! Whilst it's true you can snowshoe on your own it's nice to have a guide to go through the basics and offer a bit of knowledge about the area. Joel has a nice, calm personality and explained things well. He is very passionate about wildlife which adds to the experience. He remembers everyone's name and makes sure everyone is safe and coping ok with the hike. The area we walked through was very pretty, but where in this area is not pretty?! The weather was nice, snowing lightly for most of the hike. It was reasonably warm that day at around zero degrees ;) so after a few minutes hiking we had to take off some layers. I hiked in my snow pants, T-shirt and ski jacket, that was plenty. I recommend this tour company. Good to get some exercise too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second time just as fabulous!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went on a snow shoe hike for the second time with Joel, this time we brought two family members from overseas with us. They loved it just as much as us due to Joel's generosity in making sure we were all well-equipped for the cold day. He is so informative and teaches so much along the way and it was a real treat to stop for hot chocolate and home baked goods! This is a must do activity for locals as well as tourists - go with a sense of adventure and you'll have a fabulous time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank banany36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Divide Day Hikes also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Great Divide Day Hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing