We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Beehive with Joel!!”

Great Divide Day Hikes
Ranked #3 of 5 Tours in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpreters. In summer, full day and half day walks/hikes. In winter, half day snowshoeing trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Beehive with Joel!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had the opportunity to hike to the summit of Big Beehive with Joel. We were impressed with his knowledge and all of his teaching tools. He was very patient while we peppered him with many questions. We instantly saw and felt the passion/bond Joel has with the area. We were lucky enough to be able to spot a pigmy owl and dine on wild raspberries and blueberries. Our lunch view was spectacular. We had a fantastic trip that was filled with lifetime memories. I would highly recommend Great Divide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kwdrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiking with Nadine!!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We took a guided hike, Valley of the Ten Peaks, with Nadine in the Lake Louise area this past August and it was wonderful! Nadine is so knowledgeable about the area and is passionate about wildlife. She has a great sense of humour and is kind - she made the trip memorable for us - We hiked, talked, asked questions, and laughed! It was a beautiful day. We would definitely choose Great Divide again!

Jane & Ron
Montreal, Quebec

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views, good information, professional guide!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Joel shared extensive knowledge of the area, the geology and biology, but let's face it, the VIEWS steal the show here.
I am so glad we had this guided hike. He kept us safe, taught alot about the wildlife including the bears (we saw scat but no bears), paced the hike well, and we had a great time.
HIGHLY recommend this company if you are in the Lake Louise/Banff area. We stayed at Moraine Lake and hiked Ten Peaks. BUT there are really no bad choices here, as all trails are really beautiful. We chose to spend time on the trail and less time in the car, so hiked from our lodge. If you stay at the Chateau or the Post or one of the other Lake Louise area lodging sites or camp sites, just ask Joel or Nadine for the best views close to where you are, and you cannot go wrong. But take the signs requiring at least 4 persons seriously, and unless you really know bear country, I strongly encourage you to use Great Divide (Joel and Nadine). Read the reviews already posted...they say it better than I can.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FredfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Learning and exercise with fantastic scenery”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went on a private hike with Joel to the two Tea Houses and around Lake Agnes. Joel is a good guide with an ecology degree and an easy going personality. He had prepared for the hike by putting several items in his pack including cushions for the rocks, sample rocks, and even a "glacier". It was a fun and tiring day with lots of pictures and memories of the hard working Pikas, the Pika hunting weasel, and a couple of hawks. We highly recommend getting outside of the tourist areas to connect with nature and Great Divide is an excellent service to do that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CentexHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike with Joel”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Highly recommend spending a day with Joel or Nadine on a wonderful hike in Banff National park.
My daughter and I took a private hike with Joel up the big Beehive trail at Lake Louise. The views were spectacular and we hiked at a pleasant pace.
Joel enhanced our experience with his knowledge; he pointed out so many things we wouldn't have noticed on our own. This was well worth the price of the guided hike. His personality is very engaging and we enjoyed talking as we hiked and ate lunch. Joel also helped us plan a trip to Yoho National Park in nearby British Columbia and provided us with maps and tips.
You won't be disappointed by hiring this company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nukesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Divide Day Hikes also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Canadian Rockies, Alberta
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Great Divide Day Hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing