We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Guides make a Great Vacation-Joe and Nadine are the Best!

Eighteen years ago Joel was a guide on a hike I took in the Lake Louise area. When returning to... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Terry B
,
Des Moines, Iowa
incredibly knowledgeable & friendly guides

We knew we would be in the vicinity of Lake Louise around mid June and wanted a knowledgeable guide... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
Louise S
Read all 369 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lake Louise
from $215.10
More Info
from $176.60
More Info
from $140.45
More Info
from $224.70
More Info
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
358
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
358
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided hike flora and fauna ten peaks day hike his knowledge canadian rockies hot chocolate herbal tea learning experience extra gear carpenter ants learned how stanley glacier the lake louise area fantastic guide great hike great company
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 369 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Joel led us on a guided hike through the Stanley Glacier trail. He was spot on with his recommendation of a trail that suited both our abilities and interests. His vast knowledge about the vegetation and wildlife, as well as the history behind the area's recovery from recent forest fires, made for an afternoon of interesting facts and scenery not encountered on your everyday hike.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank L_Craigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If we weren't experiencing beautiful views, it was because we were enjoying the peacefulness of being right in the middle of the forest. I'm sure that the guides get a feel for the ability of each group and set an appropriate pace, we were looking for a bit of a workout - and got some great exercise. We lucked out with the weather and got to break a lot of trail on untouched snow. Enjoyed some yummy home-made treats and great information along the way. Our guide Nadine had a really easy, friendly, and genuine manner that made the trip really enjoyable! They also provided a lot of great information to make sure that we were really well prepared for our trip - helpful especially to those not familiar with winter activities.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank wlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you so much for this review, WLaurel. Your family were a treat to guide, three lovely teen girls who were interested and interesting. That's very nice for a guide and it speaks to some quality parenting. Thank you! Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been living and loving Lake Louise since August and there is so much to explore!
Our trip today was one that deepened our love for the surroundings and opened our eyes to more of the hidden wonders of the area.
A healthy workout, combined with some mind expanding info and lots of fun!
Joel and Nadine are one of the most knowledgeable people in the area so make sure to include
a trip with them while visiting, or come out to the area specially for this!

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thanks for the photos and for your kind words Joost. We love living in Lake Louise too! N & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had an excellent time snowshoeing at Louise. Joel's experience, knowledge and joy in what he does most certainly shown through. Had a great day!

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank PA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first experience snowshoeing and Great Divide provided a personal and professional trek for us. Our guide Joel took the time to answer everyone's questions and provided us with just the right amount of detail about the natural surroundings. We had a delicious snack break about halfway through consisting of home made hot chocolate and granola bars. We will arrange another adventure with Great Divide hopefully in the near future.

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Douglas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Nature Interpretation, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

We'd love to see you again in the future too! Have a great spring. Nadine & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews