We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturistic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.20*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Picturistic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We climbed up to the top of the rock and the view was amazing! The water was piercing blue which I'd never seen before. It's picturistic. The lake looked like it came from a painting. We really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanthon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,008
    495
    95
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth the gentle "hike".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Extremely scenic area and well worth the visit. It is an easy walk around the lake and well worth it. Parking can be difficult during busy season, so better to show up a bit early if you need to park close by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetterBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of my favorite lakes in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sunrise, really, it's worth it. In August it was at 6:45. At 2:30 don't even try to go there, it's a ZOO/parking lot. It is a beautiful lake and the view from the rockpile prior to sunrise is a wonderful, spiritual experience. But please, unlike several non-English speaking tourists we experienced, please keep your voices down at sunrise, it's a spiritual thing and we don't need to hear your running commentary. Tour buses were arriving at 7:15 and we were leaving, thank God.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank National_Park_Lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped at Moraine lake as part of a tour. The color of this lake alone is worth a visit. There is canoeing if you have time. We just walked along the shore, really beautiful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyKrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hike to Moraine Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spectacular. The hike up was challenging and the view was spectacular. Great place for family photos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing