We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canada's National Treasure”
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.96*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Canada's National Treasure”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Seriously if you are visiting Canada, you got to come to Banff, Lake Louise and Moraine Lake. This was on Canada's old $20 bill (not the new plastic ones). Scenery is breath-taking. Best time would be during Summer time when the snow fully melted and you could see the blue/green water reflecting the sunlight.

There are some great hiking trails with good views of the lake.
http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/ab/banff/activ/randonee-hiking/lakelouise.aspx

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,016
    498
    95
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most gorgeous spot I've ever seen”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Moraine Lake as part of a Caravan Tours trip through the Canadian Rockies (whose tour I highly recommend). The absolute highlight for me was Moraine Lake (which I had never even heard of and would never have known to visit had I planned this trip on my own). It is crucial to climb up the trail to the viewpoint that overlooks the lake; it's amazing and well worth the short walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_Franklin_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Picture post card beauty”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a magnificent spot. You see photos which don't do this place justice. We went on a beautiful sunny day .The water sparkles, the views just spectacular where ever you are,If in the Rockies this is a must see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wgbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing ... if You Can Manage to Get In”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

On our first visit to Moraine Lake, we got lucky. There was almost nobody there. The views down the Moraine Lake Road are stunning, and the view of the valley of the 10 peaks from the lake shore is equally as amazing, and includes an absolutely humongous pile of large rocks. We asked around and no one seemed to know quite how the rocks got there. On our second visit to Moraine Lake, we couldn't find a parking spot closer than a kilometer from the main lot. I drove around for 20 minutes while friends jumped out to take a look at the view. Next time, we will be sure to go at a time when the crowds are absent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Moraine Lake is the Lake Louise quite equal.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you feel the Lake Louise is too crowded, you will love the Moraine Lake with its beautiful view of the Valley of the Ten Peaks. A look that is also pictured on the old 20 dollar bill. The best view you have from the Rockpile, a short climb, but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Lothar2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing