We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Book In Advance
$71.69*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Bucks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited this lake many times over the years, in all weathers and it is still stunningly beautiful with the most magic of mountains surrounding it. High season is not a good time to visit because, although it is further on from Lake Louise, there are still a lot of people, all trying to take the same photos. We have always been fortunate enough to go back during the quieter time of the day, when coach parties etc have long gone and the area takes on a more tranquil feel.

So many beautiful lakes to visit but when in Jasper drive to Medicine Lake - very magical

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,807
    471
    89
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

When I clambered over the crest of the moraine the view that unfolded across the tranquil, turquoise lake towards the snow-topped mountains literally took my breath away. Without question, this was the most beautiful vista I have ever seen. Some time later I still think about it, and one day will return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank al-k-traz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Fairest of them All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Absolutely, stunningly beautiful! A total MUST see! So worth the drive from Lake Louise. Take a boat out on the lake and see how the surrounding trees and mountains reflect in the water. Then climb the moraine and look out over the water. Very nice restaurant in season (summer), lots of parking and clean facilities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Matewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“MORAINE LAKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful lakes I have ever seen. We came upon this lake by accident on our way up to Lake Louse not knowing what would be down this narrow road. to the left before getting up to Lake Louise. Do not miss this place. We were there about ten years ago.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TEXANGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“My favorite place on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There are some place you visit that just envoke awe. This is one of them. Actaully the best of the ones I have found so far in my lifetime. Absoloutely stunning. Moraine Lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks doesn't take a backseat to it's neighbor in the Canadien Rockies, Lake Louise.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rwhubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing