We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ride down the Kicking Horse River”

Wild Water Adventures
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wild Water! For 25 years, guests like you have enjoyed award-winning Canadian Rockies rafting trips on the famous Kicking Horse River. Simply put, we pride ourselves in offering the finest white water rafting Canada has to offer! Our Kicking Horse rafting trips are just outside Banff and Yoho National Parks and near Golden, British Columbia. Our Banff rafting trips are perfect for singles, couples, families and groups, and all abilities and ages, from 8 to 88, making for the ideal rafting trips in Canada. You'll be fitted and provided with all your personal safety equipment, and our expert team of fun-loving professionals will make your trip easy to book and exciting to experience! If you are looking for the best white water rafting Banff has to offer, look no further...
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome ride down the Kicking Horse River”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about this tour but had an absolute blast. The tour leaders ensured our safety was of utmost importance but made sure we had a great time. All equipment was supplied to make sure we were warm as the water was certainly cold. We did the gentle tour but will definitely do the level 4 next time. I recommend this as a must do tour for anyone visiting Lake Louise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildWaterAdv, Front Office Manager at Wild Water Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Karen,

Thanks for your kind words and that the fact that you felt comfortable for a first time rafter puts a smile on our faces. We'd like nothing more than to take you to the next level and try the WhiteWater Exciter, and who knows maybe even the Maximum Horse Power trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic adventure”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a great afternoon we had rafting down the Kicking Horse river with Wild Water Adventures. As a family of five with ages ranging from 12 to 52, our first white water adventure was a bit of an experiment, but it turned out to be all we hoped - and more. This is a very professional set up, and we at times felt safe and prepared for all eventualities. The instructors are very experienced, but have a great sense of humour and made the afternoon relaxed and fun. All equipment is provided,, as well as drinks and snack at the end of the day, and I think it is great value for what you get. I would also like to point out their excellent customer care - I made a major booking error (got the month wrong), and when we didn't turn up, they contacted us and then simply re-booked us for the following month without any extra cost incurred. Thank you for our best adventure during an activity-packed two week holiday in Canada!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 16Wendy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had a blast on the Kicking Horse River!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Totally professional and fun, the guides have global experience rafting in several different countries (South America, Central America and Australia and more.) the safety briefings were well done and the instructions were very clear. We practiced some drills before setting out on our wild adventure, and I don't think I stopped smiling the whole time - honestly so exciting and exhilarating! We were plenty warm (wetsuit, fleece, rain jacket, boots and mitts) and at the end, even got to jump overboard. These guys know their stuff, know the river and each rapid, and know how to have fun. There were cold and hot drinks and snacks put out afterwards to snack on while watching slideshow of the trip which was available for purchase at a reasonable cost. It was an amazing time and a great memory.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wet, Wild, Wonderful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an exciting way to experience the power of water gushing from glaciers forced into a river gorge! It is a wild ride, with water temperature 40 degrees splashing all over you. Don't worry, you are provided all the gear: booties, wet suit, gloves, fleeces, rain jackets, helmets! The crew is so organized that you feel perfectly safe with information on what to do in emergencies! Be ready to paddle, get down, lean in to hold on for dear life! Their safety record and enjoyment both top the charts! Guides are all pros with lots of experience from New Zealand, England, Costa Rica, Canada and owners with vast experience for over 2 decades of service.

We liked the hot chocolate, cookies and watermelon at the end of the day...we survived happily!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusieH771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildWaterAdv, Front Office Manager at Wild Water Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Susie,

We're happy to hear that enjoyed the wild ride that is the WhiteWater Exciter! The guides will be glad to hear that someone remembered where they come from :P Maybe we need an American guide in the future to add to our diverse roster of guides. Take care and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
2 reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We did the Whitewater Exciter tour and absolutely loved it. It was my first time rafting and now I'm in love with the sport. My daughter has rafted two other rivers before this trip (one in New Mexico (USA), the other in Montana (USA) and said without a doubt this one was the best out of all three. The rafts Wild Water Adventure uses allows for a much more fun trip for the rider as well as much safer. The water of the Kicking Horse river is a milking white color from flowing over rock flour giving it that color. The water is cold (from glaciers) but with all the gear they give you to wear, you'll be just fine so don't worry about the coldness. You'll feel more alive while on this river. All their employees are very fun, friendly, and knowledgeable. A must do if you are visiting the Banff area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greta1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Water Adventures also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Water Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing