We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I'm traveling with my 7 years old son and must say that it was a great experience to stay at the hostel. It's better than camping and very clean for a wilderness hostel. As 'city family' we mists just a locker for our personal stuff but I certain believe the very kind and hospital hostel manager about the safety of the area.

Because they take so much care about the environment, the rest, nature, ... I would them just recommend to work with more wind and solar energy, like to heat water, lighting a pad or the buildings, ...

It's a very good place if you love nature, animals, the wood and the rest far away from the daily stress.

I go definitely back there!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Even though there's no wash facilities I totally loved this place. Good kitchen facilities, common room, comfy bed with lots of blankets and the toilets are new and in good condition. Everything is well maintained and the location is just amazing.

The only thing I wish it had was an area to wash/clean your teeth that wasnt the kitchen. Washing in the creek was ok (although freezing!!!) in fact made the experience but an outside basin area to wash would have been helpful.

Didnt get to experience the sauna but everyone said it was really good.

One tip - go over the road and up the river a little way. You'll find a great waterfall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a private room (2 adults, 2 kids). There are 2 rooms, at either end of a cabin with a full kitchen. The accommodations were perfectly fine. Brand new outhouse is totally spotless, smells of nothing but cedar . We ended up cooking and hanging out in the main lodge, which is very well equipped. Kitchen, lounge with fireplace, interesting people.

Manager was friendly and professional, location is amazing. No running water, but there's a wood fired sauna so who needs a shower. If you are looking for an economical, comfortable and social experience in the mountains, this is a great spot. If you need a hair dryer and room service, we will be happy to see you go elsewhere. We'll be back for x-country ski season.

One tip - bring headlamps or flashlights to keep beside your bed. Big time dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rinrat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night before heading to Banff.
I was a great chilled spot by the creek. First thing I did was get the sauna cranking and we spent most of the night in and out of the sauna and the creek! Fantastic!!
The "lodge keeper" Andrew, was very friendly and gave us some good tips on the local area. There is a stunning view through a very short (30 sec) bush walk. I wish I had found it earlier.
Great relaxed feel to the place. We didn't really want to leave.

Room Tip: The sauna is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really happy about this hostel. The 12 bed dorms are quite comfortable and clean. It is a wilderness hostel so no showers. But if you are used to huts or tents, this should be pretty comfortable. Finding cheap accomodations in the rockies is difficult but wilderness hostels are worth the try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGin600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Has everything
Great price
Great staff

Go there!

Even had sauna and wifi!!! In wilderness hostel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

nice hostel spent a few nights here enjoyed it was comfortable clean

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
15.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
15.4 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
15.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
15.3 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
15.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#4 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel

Property: HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel
Address: Hwy 93N Icefields Parkway | 29 km North of Lake Louise, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is your holiday travel budget not going far enough?Having difficulty keeping to your travel budget? Need a cheap accommodation solution so you can see everything in Banff and not have to sleep in a tent? Is staying Lake Louise too expensive for you? And the idea of camping in the unpredictable mountain weather unappealing? Did you say yes to anyone if not all of these questions? You should stay at the wilderness hostels along the Icefields Parkway.Icefield Parkway Hostels - HI Mosquito Creek Wilderness HostelHI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel is a small “off-the-grid” 24 bed hostel located 29 km north of Lake Louise – a 20 minute drive on the Icefields Parkway -Highway 93 North- which links Banff and Jasper National Parks. This is your chance to see the Canada you imagined, the real Canadian Rockies at HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel with dorm beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing