We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night before heading to Banff.
I was a great chilled spot by the creek. First thing I did was get the sauna cranking and we spent most of the night in and out of the sauna and the creek! Fantastic!!
The "lodge keeper" Andrew, was very friendly and gave us some good tips on the local area. There is a stunning view through a very short (30 sec) bush walk. I wish I had found it earlier.
Great relaxed feel to the place. We didn't really want to leave.

Room Tip: The sauna is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really happy about this hostel. The 12 bed dorms are quite comfortable and clean. It is a wilderness hostel so no showers. But if you are used to huts or tents, this should be pretty comfortable. Finding cheap accomodations in the rockies is difficult but wilderness hostels are worth the try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGin600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Has everything
Great price
Great staff

Go there!

Even had sauna and wifi!!! In wilderness hostel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

nice hostel spent a few nights here enjoyed it was comfortable clean

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed for 1 night at this hostel and we were really disappointed. I love nature, but it doesn't mean I want to cook with mice in the kitchen. There was no drinking water and no shower, but you could find there a sauna! Also, the manager was not friendly. If it were extremely cheap it'd be ok, but we paid the same in Jasper and there were more facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lenalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIAlberta, Manager at HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

Hello,


I'm sorry your stay at Mosquito Creek was so disappointing. Our Wilderness hostels along the Icefields Parkway in Banff National Park are very rustic; some of the buildings are historic artifacts, cabins built for temporary use as housing in WWII internment camps located in the area and donated to us after the war and as such are very basic wood-frame structures with no electricity, running water, central heating or foundations.


As such, they are more akin to alpine huts; we do our best on our website and through Central Reservations to ensure guests understand that a stay at these hostels is closer to 'camping with a roof' than to a stay at one of our more luxurious and modern properties like the HI-Banff Alpine Centre or HI-Lake Louise, with restaurants, wifi, etc. Unfortunately, we don't manage to inform everyone of this and it would seem we missed you. I apologize for the inconvenience and if you would like to contact me through our main switchboard line, I will do my best to make amends (1-403-762-4123).


We do our best to ensure the wildlife stays outside; however, as these hostels are essentially huts in the wilderness, we have no future plans (or Parks Canada approval, or even available infrastructure) to upgrade these facilities with showers, flush toilets and the other amenities people are used to in everyday life in a municipal setting. Guests who want to hear the absolute silence of the woods in the evening, watch the deer drink from the stream or count the millions of stars overhead far from the city do find the hostel a stunning, unique experience. I apologize for the inconvenience.


Ken Campbell
General Manager
HI-Banff Wilderness Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

If you spend time in the Rockies, a wilderness hostel is a must. Mosquito Creek hostel is one of a few up the Icefields Parkway, but having only stayed in this one I can't comment on the others! We spent a very enjoyable 2 nights here in June. We booked a private room, and found it very comfortable with plenty of room and bed choice! The facilities are basic but what do you expect?! There was running water, LED lights, a pretty well stocked kitchen and pit toilets. There is also a wood-heated sauna, with its own pludge pool (ok it's the creek but it certainly cools you down!). Alan, the guy running it when we were there is a font of local hiking and activities, so make sure you tap him up for ideas! And to illustrate the wilderness bit, a black bear strolled through the camp just before our arrival! If you only stay for a night, it's a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BadgerSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas oublier une lampe frontale pour se rendre aux toilettes la nuit + un bassin de toile pour se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel

Address: Hwy 93N Icefields Parkway | 29 km North of Lake Louise, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $23 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is your holiday travel budget not going far enough?Having difficulty keeping to your travel budget? Need a cheap accommodation solution so you can see everything in Banff and not have to sleep in a tent? Is staying Lake Louise too expensive for you? And the idea of camping in the unpredictable mountain weather unappealing? Did you say yes to anyone if not all of these questions? You should stay at the wilderness hostels along the Icefields Parkway.Icefield Parkway Hostels - HI Mosquito Creek Wilderness HostelHI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel is a small “off-the-grid” 24 bed hostel located 29 km north of Lake Louise – a 20 minute drive on the Icefields Parkway -Highway 93 North- which links Banff and Jasper National Parks. This is your chance to see the Canada you imagined, the real Canadian Rockies at HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel with dorm beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI-Mosquito Creek Wilderness Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing