We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.30*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

On the icefield parkway. There's a short easy hike from the parking lot and then you get to see one of the most speacial lakes in the canadian rockies. We loved it so much that we came back again on our way back from Jasper to Banff. It is a must, don't miss it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oritzuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,573
    305
    41
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Peyto wasn't on our plan at first, but when we drive through Icefield Pkwy, we decided that we'd go see it since we were already there. I would regret if I hadn't gone! After an easy 5-10 minute hike, we saw the special shape of the lake extending in front of us. The spot wasn't very crowded so we took our time enjoying the view and taking in as much fresh air as we could. Different from other lakes/rivers, Peyto gives a view from a different view point and you can never get enough of it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
435 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Just like the photos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Access to the platforms is a fairly easy short walk and should be accesable to everyone. The photos don't lie, the colour is stunning. If you have a nice sunny day make a detour to this place, you'll get some unvelievable pics.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Iconic Vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Between Banff and Jasper on the icefields parkway is the short pulloff road to the viewing platform to Peyto Lake. A short hike with a steep section takes one to the platform where the lake shaped like an aquamarine deer's head can be viewed. Given the ease and accessability of the stunning view it should be on everyone's to do list of icefield parkway sites. Don't forget the camera. Looking forward to seeing it again this summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DWathenYoungstown_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
““Incredibly Stunning View””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

About half hour north of Banff town driving on the Ice field parkway, Entrance to the lake is a hidden driveway but can’t be missed. Ample parking spaces and a steep 15-20 Min hike to the viewing platform. Stunning& Gorgeous views of the lake and mountains behind. Wonderful spot for some awesome clicks so a camera is a must.

This place does tend to get pretty crowded due to the small viewing platform and the numbers of tourist visiting this place. Does get chilly so bring a light sweater in case?

Defiantly worth a stop and should not be missed, will definitely visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajaz_K007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing