We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, horrible bug condition”
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.51*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quebec City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good view, horrible bug condition”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is a beautiful lake, but it doesn't have anything in the way of activities, and the viewing platform is always crowded. A good stop, but not a destination in its own right. There are a lot of glacial lakes like Peyto up here,so if you miss this one its not too big of a deal.

If you are traveling in the summer, know that the Mosquitos are unbearable here. I've hiked the Canadian Rockies dozens of times so I'm aware that the bugs are a constant, ambient problem, but the air was literally thick with them here, so much that some poor Taiwanese tourists were forced to run to their car, with a clearly visible cloud of biting bugs escorting them all the way. I counted 16 welts on my legs from staying here for 15 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaymanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,593
    306
    41
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice and not much more”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A short trail to the viewpoint of the lake. There was a big crowd when we came so we had to wait for some time before we could actually get to see the lake. Then we continued on the loop trail which was nice but not very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrnaLavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Genuine aqua blue and beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

En route to Lake Louise we stopped at Peyto Lake. We had been told to expect something special with the lake's colour. But we weren't prepared for the most beautiful aqua blue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level Contributor
215 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake...but no easy access to the lake itself”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another stunning lake along the Icefields Parkway. It only takes about 10 minutes from the parking lot before you can cast your eyes on a milky-green glacier-fed lake. Don't miss this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrikb_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
267 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful lake and definitely worth the short, steep hike from the car park. It is best early in the day before the bus loads of people arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing