We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peyto Lake & Bow Summit Lookout”
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.69*
and up
Banff National Park Guided Hike with Lunch
More Info
$276.89*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary
More Info
$204.66*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Peyto Lake & Bow Summit Lookout”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are driving along the Icefields Parkway, a stop at Peyto Lake is an absolute must. Yes, it's only a short trail up to the viewpoint and it can be very crowded up there (so be aware of that)...especially in the summer months. If you can visit either before 10.00am or after 4.00pm and you may be able to avoid the big crowds. And if you have some time and want to get away from the crowds you should follow the Bow Summit Lookout Trail which starts at the Peyto Lake viewing platform.

Many people only walk the paved nature trail to the Peyto Lake viewing platform. However, if you continue past the viewing platform and climb another 3km (1.9 miles) to the Bow Summit Lookout you will find some amazing views away from all the crowds. In my mind definitely worth it if you have a couple of hours for this hike. Here is a link to a PDF file with a very good description of this trail: http://www.summerthought.com/50Walks_sample.pdf

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
43 Thank AnnInBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,728
    329
    44
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular lake scenery.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to this lake 4 times on my trip through Alberta Canada. One day I went around 0800 hours and it was totally fogged in. It made for some unique photos. While waiting for the fog to clear I drove south about five minutes to bow lake and got some beautiful reflection photos with some beautiful pink flowers in the foreground.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dawgpound32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have never seen the colour of water so blue and green, very easy to miss the sign if you aren't looking for it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Aft43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing place but could do with better signposting”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Coaches for the tour groups park at the top car park nearest to the outlook, cars in the car park below and you have to walk up the hill...bit of a pull for those less fit.

The outlook gets crowded by the tour groups how go for a 5 second look and a quick snap. It is better to make your way along the trails off the main drag and get away from the crowds. Our guide books mention another outlook which is a good walk away (I can't remember how far they said) but we could not find it. It didn't matter though, as we were happy to sit on some rocks and soak up the amazing views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“View to die for !”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lake Peyto is a must watch if you are in and aroudn Canadian Rockey area. We travelled to Banff and Icefield Parkway from Toronto in Sep-2011. The whole area is so dreamy and fascinating. Peyto lake in particular is not as celebrated as lake louise, but trust me it was the most brilliant water color I ever saw in my life... A well-defined pathway leads you to the viewing platform. The place is much less crowded than other tourist spots in this area. All in all a must see in Rocky Mountains trip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruchi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing