We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

The Bison Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Description: Walk up our staircase into rustic elegance. With windows on three sides, Banff's best mountain views speak for themselves. Enjoy a signature cocktail, local bottled beer or choose from our carefully selected wine list. Watch the show as a line of talented chefs in our open concept coppered kitchen lead by executive chef Brendan Robson prepare your regionally inspired meal. Locals and visitors enjoy our sun-drenched terrace with its mountain views in the summer, and roaring campfire in the winter. Whether in high heels or hiking boots, our dining room is yours.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Took my wife out for dinner and the Bison ticked all the boxes, food was great, friendly service and affordable prices! My favorite was the escargot/bone marrow appetizer! Great locally sourced protein and greens! Nice wine list as well... highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    299
    107
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Well worth searching out”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is said to be in the top 10 restaurants to try in the whole world. Well I don't think I could say that but it is certainly very good indeed and should be tried by any "foodie" visiting Banff. Enjoy!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furry Creek, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I did not make the reservation for supper at Bison but I sure will next time! There were three of us for a reasonably low-key business supper with all of us rating the food as Excellent and the overall experience Very Good.

My meal consisted of the Beet Carpaccio salad with a main course of Bison Short Ribs. Both were nicely presented and the short ribs in particular very good indeed - we all did little tastings by passing bits of food around and the ribs were rated the #1 main course.

There is outdoor seating. We started off outside but moved in as the early June air in the mountains cools pretty fast - particularly if there is a breeze. The request to move inside was quickly and graciously responded to by the server.

We are here for a few more days and hope to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frog Legs & Bison”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

While vacationing in the Banff-Canmore area, we decided to try the Bison Restaurant. The VG rating is due to mixed reviews from our party. My wife had the tenderloin. She order it med-rare and it came out well done. She had to return it. The second attempt was a little better as it came out closer to medium. My experience, however, was much better. First, I saw that they had Frog Legs on the menu and decided to give them a try. WOW, they were outstanding. I also tried the Bison and asked for it to be med-rare. It came back as ordered and was delicious. Because of my wife's meal, the restaurant gave her a complementary dessert. She selected the crème Brule, and it was done to perfection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Brunch by any other name...”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Bison is just back of the main street in Banff.... Sunday brunch is not to be missed. Absolutely terrific mountain cuisine. Go for the Bennies... they do them so very well. My partner's fritata was outstanding. The servers seemed to be having a good time and its a great atmosphere. Its bistro style and it lends a certain ambiance to the meal. Good company and good food are a great combination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing