We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Meal, But Expensive”

The Bison Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Description: Walk up our staircase into rustic elegance. With windows on three sides, Banff's best mountain views speak for themselves. Enjoy a signature cocktail, local bottled beer or choose from our carefully selected wine list. Watch the show as a line of talented chefs in our open concept coppered kitchen lead by executive chef Brendan Robson prepare your regionally inspired meal. Locals and visitors enjoy our sun-drenched terrace with its mountain views in the summer, and roaring campfire in the winter. Whether in high heels or hiking boots, our dining room is yours.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Meal, But Expensive”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a nice experience here. I liked the "Banff style" atmosphere of the place. Our server was super friendly and helpful (you don't get that where we are from). The food that came out tasted lovely. The portions where on the small side and it was one of the more expensive restaurants in Banff. Luckily we were starting to get to full from general holiday over indulgence anyway, so I was glad for the smaller portions. I did also notice the kitchen smoking out the restaurant like a previous reviewer also commented on. I think we would go back, but maybe only as a once in a while type of thing (given the opportunity).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    290
    103
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Portions can be quite small, but the food was very delicious! Great decor - especially loved the comfy chairs! Cookies and milkshake was divine and the service was excellent! Overpriced, of course! We would come here again and try other dishes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgentMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware the smoke filled restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I ate here on a Friday night. We had had a pleasant experience here on a prior visit when we dined in the bar area. This time we had a table for two in the main restaurant with a side view of the open kitchen and grille. The kitchen routinely smoked up the restaurant to the point where they opened the hallway doooften front of us that led to the restrooms so we had a lovely view of the public hallways through the smoke. The food was okay and the waitress was surly. Not sure we'll go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Came here with friends for dinner on the 3rd of January. My girlfriend and I have been here before for breakfast on our last trip to Banff and were not disappointed.

We made a reservation and were able to be get in almost last minute on a weekend. Our server Antoine(sp) was pretty good, quick and knew his drink menu. I had the Oxtail soup and it was amazing, a number of us started with that and the bowls were clean in a few moments of it being served.

My main course was the Bison ribeye - granted it was a bit pricey but it was a huge 12 oz. It had a beautiful char on the outside and was cooked perfectly at medium rare, the others entrees were pretty amazing too and were enjoyed.

The dessert was a bit strange, I had the Banana Split Decision and it was a confusing looking plate. I would try to describe it but all I remember on the menu and what I saw was the waffle cone and the sorbet. As for taste it was a bit subdued and had some sprouts of greens on it which kinda offput the overall taste.

If you have the funds, love a good steak and want to avoid a chain resturant then I would Highly recommend The Bison.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Will not return - disappointed right from the start”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had 6:30 reservations and arrived at 6:25. We were not greeted with "hello" or even a smile, simply told they are all booked. We advised that we had a reservation and were then told our table was ready. We went upstairs and were quickly showed our table in an empty restaurant. It overlooked the street which was nice. We waited about 20 minutes for our server to come, no smile, she filled our water glasses, explained the menu and left us again for another 10 minutes before taking our drink order. We ordered our food quickly after, still had not seen a smile on our servers face or any clue of a person who wanted to work in the service industry. We found the menu lacking, 3 appetizers, 2 salads, about 10 main courses. I had read the reviews and looked at the online menu before booking but things seem to have changed. We ordered the bison short ribs and could not have been more disappointed. A cast iron skillet with everything mixed in it. Everything in the meal all tasted the same and tasted more like camping food over the fire then $35 per plate. The lighting was poor and the carrots, potatoes, turnips, squash all looked the same as the meat. No desire to return again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing