We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Description: Walk up our staircase into rustic elegance. With windows on three sides, Banff's best mountain views speak for themselves. Enjoy a signature cocktail, local bottled beer or choose from our carefully selected wine list. Watch the show as a line of talented chefs in our open concept coppered kitchen lead by executive chef Brendan Robson prepare your regionally inspired meal. Locals and visitors enjoy our sun-drenched terrace with its mountain views in the summer, and roaring campfire in the winter. Whether in high heels or hiking boots, our dining room is yours.
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our server very nicely moved us to a window table when one came available which was a very nice start to the evening. My husband had the rack of lamb and I had the steelhead trout. Both were very delicious BUT the rack was only 2 chops and the steelhead had too much of any oily sauce on it. The chocolate layer cake paired with Quailsgate Ice Wine was very delicious. I would go back just to try the other dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Snarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    273
    98
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good atmospher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had dinner at the Bison. The menu has quite a variety. Food was good but we found it a little salty. Wait staff was very attentive, service good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gripbic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great service, expensive but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husand and I made reservations for the Bison during our getaway to Banff over Thanksgiving weekend. It seemed to be a popular place and highly recommended so we decided to check it out. I found the place to be a little overwhelming as far as layout, a touch noisy and cramped to enjoy a quiet sit down meal, however the food and service was fantastic. I had the bison ribeye cooked to my liking and my husband had the steak and we had no complaints about the food other then it is definitely pricey, but you can come to expect that in a upscale restaurant in Banff. Our favourite part of our meal was the dessert, which was the pumpkin pie topped with toasted marshmellow, maple whiskey syrup with maple icecream and candied bacon. Yum! The Bison definitely has a unique menu and I would recommend for anyone to check it out during your visit to Banff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“recommended?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

it was off the main road and we had to look around for it but it was recommended by hotel staff; so we searched it out! when we went in still no so sold on it; but the staff was really helpful and very pleasant; they made this part of the visit worth it; then our meal came "Bison" we loved it! sat a little while as the place started to fill up; we definitely would recommend this place;

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kingslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Patio and Unique Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a Sunday brunch here with friends. The food was very good....the unique choices on the menu had a variety of choices...all of which sounded yummy. The food arrived quickly and we were not disappointed. The staff were knowledgeable on the menu, friendly, and quick with our drinks and meal service.

I look forward to dining here again in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing