We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Description: Walk up our staircase into rustic elegance. With windows on three sides, Banff's best mountain views speak for themselves. Enjoy a signature cocktail, local bottled beer or choose from our carefully selected wine list. Watch the show as a line of talented chefs in our open concept coppered kitchen lead by executive chef Brendan Robson prepare your regionally inspired meal. Locals and visitors enjoy our sun-drenched terrace with its mountain views in the summer, and roaring campfire in the winter. Whether in high heels or hiking boots, our dining room is yours.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice posh restaurant. Some menu items are expensive but food is excellent. Great to see the chefs cooking. Great service. Very hot inside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    260
    95
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good but could improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

lamb- I was expecting more than two pieces, but very yummy
bison rib eye- was nothing special
had bread before the meal came and the butter was hard!

The high light... the veggies! A potato, corn, and spinach patty that had a batter crust.
Steamed carrots and squash... both very good.

The place was empty (during the week at 5 o'clock) so we had good service and a quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nderksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“amazing sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food is amazing here. The french toast was to die for. Fresh everything on there! Their menu is also locally sourced where possible and it was just delicious all the way around. Hope to try dinner one time. The atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. The service is relaxed and casual. It wasn't too busy when we went but I can't understand why they played the music they did. It was loud and obnoxious in my standards.

The entrance was a bit of a puzzle because they are upstairs and I couldn't make heads or tails of where I was going when we first got in but someone directed us right away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at the Bison without a reservation in the later evening on a weekday...it was very busy but we were soon seated. My partner and i shared a harvest salad app, a bison steak entree, and the chocolate mint torte for dessert. It was fabulous...everything done to perfection. Service was good, lots of activity in the room, lots of happy diners. A great choice for a great meal. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dining option in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dined here on a Sunday for an early dinner (515pm) with my wife and 2 year old daughter. Everything was just perfect. We had baked oysters to start and they were good. My wife's medium rare Lamb Rack cooked great. I had the Bison Rib Eye that was cooked to perfection. My daughter had the kid's pasta with tomato sauce. The sauce was a little spicy so they changed the order to cream sauce. I didn't have any but my daughter gobbled most of it up. For dessert the mango creme brulee gelato and the pecan pie were tasty. Great atmosphere and great for kids. Service was great. Will definitely stop by here next time we are in Banff. A++

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing