We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #38 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous for Ribs since 1972, and located in the heart of Banff inside the historic Mount Royal Hotel. At Tony Roma's Banff we are best know for; our Baby Back and 4 other styles of ribs, served in our house-made signature BBQ sauces; AAA Certified Alberta Angus Beef Steaks, fresh never frozen, and triple-marbled Prime Rib. Well-suited for all members of the family, there is something for everyone! Gluten-Free and Children's Menu's available. Large groups are welcome. Dining available in our main dining area, or our well-appointed lounge, complete with 75" TV's & fireplace. All ages welcome. Reservations are recommended.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yum Ribs”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had steak, ribs and gyoza (random I know) on our visit, all of which were really tasty. Fairly priced for the type of selection at most restaurants and comparable to back home. Lots of seats so didnt have to wait for a table and service/wait time for food was very quick which is always good when your hungry!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    271
    155
    80
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, service and not expencive priced in the center of Banff”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The ribs are delicious as also the chicken strips, good choice of beers.
In the lounge there are TV screens, I was there during the World Cup 2014 so watching soccer while dining.
Reasonable priced, good and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great meal, wonderful location, super price!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The town of Banff has some heavy hitters in the steakhouse arena. But Tony Roma's is without question the value king of the town. Two of us went in for dinner and were not disappointed. I ordered the Filet Medallions and Baby Back Ribs with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and BBQ beans. The beef was prepared to perfection. Alberta beef is without question the most tender beef in the world. The ribs were a tiny bit dry and not as tender but excellent none the less. The meat was tender and the BBQ sauce flavorful. Above all this is a local hangout for me when I am home and the food is consistently excellent. I am going back, you can count on that!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Bland food, quantity trying to make up for quality”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Far too much food even by an North American standards which frankly puts you off. The flatbread starter was the size of a full sized pizzas, main course chicken dishes had 2 breasts when 1 would have been sufficient. Heavily sweetened sauces overpowered the meat and the sight of the great lump of mash frankly made you glad you hadn't ordered it. The flatbread was nice but chicken and ribs were not great and the prawns were deep fried and tasteless. Service ok. Will definitely give this chain a miss in future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HVD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice dinner for a group”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were a group of 10 and was able to get a table without a reservation and waiting very long. We were shown a table in the bar of the hotel across the lobby from the main section of the Tony Roma's restaurant. Service was good but it was kind of odd to eat dinner around a bar lounge table and the wait staff had to carry the food from the restaurant's kitchen, across the lobby and into the bar. The food was good - servings were generous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrisMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing