We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #38 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous for Ribs since 1972, and located in the heart of Banff inside the historic Mount Royal Hotel. At Tony Roma's Banff we are best know for; our Baby Back and 4 other styles of ribs, served in our house-made signature BBQ sauces; AAA Certified Alberta Angus Beef Steaks, fresh never frozen, and triple-marbled Prime Rib. Well-suited for all members of the family, there is something for everyone! Gluten-Free and Children's Menu's available. Large groups are welcome. Dining available in our main dining area, or our well-appointed lounge, complete with 75" TV's & fireplace. All ages welcome. Reservations are recommended.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It was a very long wait to be seated, but it was worth every second of it to get to eat. I ordered steak with rice, it was a very tasty meal, in addition to steak, they had, ribs, pasta, pizza, sandwiches, and a whole lotta food. Don't judge a restaurant by it's line up, people! It's a very good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    271
    155
    80
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“order their specialties”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very good service. Not overly pushy or hovering which I hate. Our experience with the food was mixed. My wife got the baby back ribs and filet. They were excellent! Cooked just as ordered and very tasty. I went with the grilled chicken. It sounded promising and looked good when it came. Unfortunately it was luke warm and the cheese not even melted. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and rate based on the ribs and steak. I briefly mentioned my chicken at the end and the server comp'd both our desserts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
445 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner in downtown Banff”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Prime location, prime view and prime beef! There is hardly more to say. A mix of ½ rib side and 2 small filet steaks was what be both had, and immaculately prepared it was definitely worth a relatively long wait. Also worth the fairly steep prices in this nice and inviting restaurant with polite and efficient staff. The garlic mashed potatoes and the coleslaw was great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Ribs, Great Service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were in Banff and we saw Tony Romas. It had been a long time since we ate at a Tony Romas so we dcided to eat there. The ribs we very good and the service was very good. We had a table for (2) with a window view over looking the street. This restaurant was doing a lot of business and I would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
644 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Good selection of food on the menu. Overall, the food was quite good, but there were some misses. Our appetizers & steaks were delicious but the side of rice was bad. I also didn't enjoy the coleslaw.

Service was excellent, along with the decor and atmosphere. They actually have a breakfast buffet on in the morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing