We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and ribs”
Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #43 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Famous for Ribs since 1972, and located in the heart of Banff inside the historic Mount Royal Hotel. At Tony Roma's Banff we are best know for; our Baby Back and 4 other styles of ribs, served in our house-made signature BBQ sauces; AAA Certified Alberta Angus Beef Steaks, fresh never frozen, and triple-marbled Prime Rib. Well-suited for all members of the family, there is something for everyone! Gluten-Free and Children's Menu's available. Large groups are welcome. Dining available in our main dining area, or our well-appointed lounge, complete with 75" TV's & fireplace. All ages welcome. Reservations are recommended.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers and ribs”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ate here loads of times over 3 month stay in Banff - I usually had burgers and the portion sizes were huge. Service was quick. Others had the ribs and they were great - but huge if you had a full rack. Great atmosphere especially for a big group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    272
    157
    80
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for a casual lunch and some people-watching”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I dropped in here when craving a burger after a 2.5hr walk on one of Banff's trails (logical, right?). It was about 2:30 on a Sunday afternoon and we'd clearly missed the lunch rush, but there was a steady trickle of fellow diners still coming through the doors. Grab a booth by the windows - a great place to people watch as they face onto the main street. We were entertained our whole meal by tourists trying to take photos of each other in the middle of the street with the mountains behind.

Staff were prompt to seat us and our server was friendly and efficient. I had the crispy onion ring burger and my partner had the bistro burger - both were nice and hit the spot, but nothing to write home about. The real draws for this place are that their menu has something for everyone, they can cater to large groups and the location is super central.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alleelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful staff and food, great location over looking Banff Avenue! Also in the Mount Royal hotel which is easily the best hotel I've stayed in, in all my times in Banff!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very good meal here and it was just as good as we remembered form our last visit. The staff were very accommodating as we were a party of 10 and had not booked, but they very quickly found us a table despite being quite busy. It's not the cheapest place to eat but the food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Balabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Banff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent restaurant, so good we ate there twice during our 5 night stay.

The ribs and sauce and amazing and a must.

Staff are all really friendly, helpful and the service is excellent.

If you want good ribs, don't both looking anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wokinghamtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing