We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even though this is a franchise, it is different to the ones in the larger cities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #38 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous for Ribs since 1972, and located in the heart of Banff inside the historic Mount Royal Hotel. At Tony Roma's Banff we are best know for; our Baby Back and 4 other styles of ribs, served in our house-made signature BBQ sauces; AAA Certified Alberta Angus Beef Steaks, fresh never frozen, and triple-marbled Prime Rib. Well-suited for all members of the family, there is something for everyone! Gluten-Free and Children's Menu's available. Large groups are welcome. Dining available in our main dining area, or our well-appointed lounge, complete with 75" TV's & fireplace. All ages welcome. Reservations are recommended.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Even though this is a franchise, it is different to the ones in the larger cities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used go to Tony Roma's in Kamloops and down in the lower mainland, so when we were in Banff, we figured we try the one there. Overall the food was good, but it wasn't the same as what we were used to. Of course, being in Banff, the prices where higher than other locations (this seems to be true of most places in Banff, including grocery stores!).
All in all we enjoyed ourselves, and its a good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    271
    155
    80
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tasty and fresh !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had calamari ceaser salad and it was so tasty first time I had ever had it. I was quite scared a very picky when it comes to calamari but was crispy and fresh . My husband had tuna salad and was also very impressed.
Being in the hotel was also so conveinent .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cocowarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great ribs, lots of ribs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the things you are spoiled for choice for in Canada is Steak and Rib houses in my experience.
Both the steak and the ribs were outstanding here. Typically I couldn't eat them all.
Earls ribs are good, The Kegs ribs are good, they're pretty much all good.
But this place was my favourite.
Big selection of all things meat, all very well cooked & presented, decent wine list and a nice, laid back but professional feel from the staff.
Nice little bar/lounge area around the corner too.
Server was very on the ball and a really helpful guy, got me to Kicking Horse on a powder day!
Thanks Peter, with the Cptn Hook moustache!! Hope you got there (and back) too!

Definately going back here if I go back to Banff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PumiceMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Learning about coleslaw!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We were met by a young Aussie guy who looked after us while the server was busy with a large family group. He told us he'd been learning about coleslaw and we were looking forward to hearing all about it when he was ushered away by the server! I thought it was great that we didn't have to stand around waiting and had someone who was fun to chat to but also to get shown to our table straight away. Dinner was ribs, baked potatoes and the infamous coleslaw. The ribs were tasty and huge potatoes. Great food and good service.

Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

we picked a very busy time in December so that probably accounts for the slow service and the limited availability of menu items. Had previously visited a Tony Romas in Florida so we were quite disappointed this time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing