We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Prices”

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Ranked #24 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Prices”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our party of 9 ate here in August. The service was quick and accurate. The prices were very reasonable and quality of food was excellent. I would highly recommend to others and I hope to return again in the future. We had two children with us who enjoyed coloring while we waited for our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    649
    248
    73
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“CHEAPEST FOOD IN BANFF, besides McDonalds..”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great tasting food at an affordable price (compared to most restaurants in Banff)... 12$ for pasta? that's cheaper than what I pay in Ottawa for a basic pasta dish. The chicken penne was amazing :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Book ahead for some fine pasta”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

All restaurants that we looked at or tried to book during our short stay in Banff are busy, including the one in your hotel, so book every dinner ahead.
We tried to book The Old Spaghetti Factory in Banff, but were advised to turn up. As it was there was only a 15 minute wait, and this proved worth it.
The restaurant is on the second floor of the Cascade Plaza, a shopping and eating arcade that has a number of empty slots.
The meal you get in this restaurant - part of a chain across North America - is fully inclusive, which means that on top of the meal you want, you also get what you might not want (as seems common in North America), because sourdough bread, salad or soup (minestrone when we were there), ice cream and tea or coffee are included.
As for the main course, my wife had penne with chicken and I had spaghetti with their tomato sauce - all very nice, and tasty.
Even though the place was full, with queues, we did not feel rushed.
Definitely worth a meal or two during any stay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the... not ugly”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I ate here twice while in Banff. Once with girlfriends, once alone. The "Good" is the menu. It's extensive and has something for everyone. The food is delicious and the hostesses were accommodating. The "Bad" is the size of the place and the potential crowds. It was very noisy the second time I visited, but Banff is a tourist destination and this is a family restaurant, so of course it'll be noisy. It wasn't the restaurant's fault that some parents allow their children to run around. There is no Ugly. Banff is beautiful and the restaurant's windows provide a gorgeous view. Ask to sit at one of the windows that open fully so you can enjoy the mountain experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilliesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not impressed, but OK”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here thinking consistently good meals as it is chain. Not knowing any other spaghetti factories we have nothing to compare it to. Our meals were just OK, but seriously cheap on the protein. Even the over amount of pasta was bland. Ps: our waiter was delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing