We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Spaghetti Factory

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Ranked #25 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Probably the best value in Banff. Good food, good service and good value. The only place I know where you can get brown butter and mizithra cheese pasta, my favourite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    501
    192
    62
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

When my mom and I arrived it was mid afternoon so the restaurant was not too busy so the service we received was amazing. Our waitress was very quick and very friendly. They have a great gluten free menu. Even though it is a decent sized restaurant is still has a nice cozy rustic feel to it. Would most definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VLMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK, but noisy, too many kids.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is probaly one of the cheapest meals you will find in Banff, that being said it's also crowded with people and kids. We went early, (4-4:30 pm) on a Saturday but the place was hopping. Banff being a big tourist town can expose you to bus loads of people at times, especially weekends. We had a 25 minute wait so we walked around the small shopping mall where the restaurant is located. Once seated the service was timely and courteous. The food, we both had spaghetti/meatballs, was nothing spectacular but it wasn't bad either. There are many choices in Banff and some are a bit pricey but I am a true believer in you get what you pay for. I may return to this restaurant again but probably just for a quick lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ljw1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
201 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Old Spaghetti Factory – Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The OSF is one of my all time favorite places to eat – I have so many fond childhood, school field trip, and Girl Guide Trip memories from meals enjoyed here. Any time I visit somewhere where there is a OSF I try to go at least once to keep the memories alive and make great new ones to add.

This visit was no exception!

Went here with a group this time and we had a blast. Our server was fantastic; she was very friendly and very quick to attend to our needs. We couldn’t make up our mind and kept getting additional items, she kept coming back with a smile.

The food was excellent! You can’t beat the incredible value of their menu offerings either.

Thank you OSF!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fly0nthewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its ok for the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food in here was acceptable, but not great.

Its one of the lower cost places to eat in Banff, but i'd rather pay a touch extra and eat elsewhere.

Was going to give 2*, but due to the price being lower than many others, to be fair i have given it 3*.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sc-luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing