We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Banff
Post
Inbox
Search

“A great way to spend time”

Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #51 of 164 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 2005, The Elk & Oarsman is Banff’s premier sports pub & restaurant. The timber & river rock décor & beautiful stone fireplace make The Elk & Oarsman a favorite for locals & tourists from around the world. The Elk offers the best in food, live entertainment, twelve draft selections and true hospitality. Our summertime rooftop patio offers an amazing 360° view of rocky mountain scenery, and in cooler weather our inviting wood burning fireplace will warm you as you relive a day on the slopes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our last evening in Banff, when looking for a place to eat, we came across the Elk and Oarsman. It is easy to miss if not particularly looking for that venue, as it has a small sign pointing to their upstairs facility.
It has a great ambience - lots of wooden walls and beams, decorated with an eclectic array of old sporting goods and displays.
They were out of the wine that we selected, and our wonderful server Taylor offered us a tasting of four others (not one but four - who does that?) although we made our choice after one. Their menu had a nice selection of food choices. My wife chose the broccoli soup - not particularly what I was looking for, but it was a very large bowl which she said was great. I am not usually a poutine guy, but was intrigued by the Elk Poutine so I ordered it. It was delicious with a good serving of melt-in-your-mouth elk, a savoury gravy packed with umami, over nicely cooked fries (not big soggy ones which other establishments offer).
We will definitely go back on our next trip to Banff.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LorenzoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dined here while on an across Canada trip on 20th September. Bit of a small entrance but once upstairs it is like a huge wooden framed attic. Welcomed and shown to table in sort of a walk through area. Lots of TV screens and a lively atmosphere. Bit of a limited menu. Service was ok. Had Tomato Soup with large slice of bread and Chicken Parmesan and a Michelob. Our bill came to $37.80

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved it here. Great sports bar; always showing various games. They have a nice selection of local beers and ciders. Food is what I would call good bar eats. Great atmosphere and staff.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank fernarock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has a really nice atmosphere, lively but not loud or obnoxious. Everyone in your party should find something they like on the menu. I had the ribs and the chicken parmesan at two separate dinners and both were delicious. Others in my party had the the cast iron queso with elk (we nearly picked up the pan and licked every drop out of it) and the elk burger -- both said it was excellent. Fast and friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DLKWI88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

We came on a Saturday night and were a bit dubious at first due to the nature of the bar. From the exterior up the stairs it's a little dark, however once inside ones concerns are put aside. We worried about it being full of crazy sports fans, however the atmosphere was chilled yet lively enough for it not to be dull. There is a good selection of beers and foods, I had a burger and poutine - both of which were so tasty. My two fellow diners also reported satisfaction with their meals.The service was friendly and efficient and the toilets clean. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing