We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and views, good pizza and burgers, bad steaks”

Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #31 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service and views, good pizza and burgers, bad steaks”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The service was very courteous, but the food was meh: our steaks were overcooked (we asked for medium-rare) and the salmon was burnt on the bottom side; it seemed they don't clean the grill very often. Elk pizza we had was dry, but the meat tasted good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimpleVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    327
    140
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good burger and brew”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple beers and elk burger while overlooking Banff Ave and a wonderful sunset over the mountains.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great GF pizza and a view”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great upstairs place with some tables with views. They had a number of GF options, the Vegetarian Pizza was amazing with a crisp crust and generous artichoke hearts, olives, caramelized onions, and arugula. My husband had an elk burger, also great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank suefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Friendly service, OK food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Keeping with the beer and burger theme, the second night in town we decided to head over to Elk and Oarsman. We arrived around 5:00, and the restaurant itself was pretty dead - we were offered an inside or outside table, but elected to stay inside...apparently the outside was very popular. As a result, it was a fairly quiet meal, and our server was attentive and friendly.

It's a fairly varied menu - sandwiches, burgers, pizzas, all the way up to full blown meals. They also have a decent size beer list. When in Rome...I had to try the Rocky Mountain Elk burger. I had not ever had Elk before - the texture is a little different. The pineapple salsa they use is tasty, but dominates the sandwich a little too much. The side Caesar salad was good...the sweet potato fries were a bit disappointing. Overall, I wish I had tried something else instead. On the plus side, they have a nice kids menu and treated the kids well.

Overall, this was a nice place - wish I had just picked a different offering.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkFloydActuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Can be hit and miss but nice place to sit”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The roof patio is really good, food is overpriced and average and most of the staff are either rude or dozy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing