We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and atmosphere”

Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #30 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a late lunch here just prior to the start of a world cup soccer game. Glad we left as we finished as there was alot of loud soccer fans arriving. Server was really friendly and helpful, and very efficient. Food was hot and tasty and the beer was nice and cold. Nothing wrong with this place at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    328
    140
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ribs to Die for.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic Pub & Grill. Staff service excellent, food just amazing variety. You need to book a table and get in early. Back Feb 15.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnowPlough5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Been here a few times, great spot to go for some pub food. Good burgers that come with two sides, decent prices on pints, and one of the best rooftop patios. I'll definitely go again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pitrack02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely bar with good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely bar with good selection of beers to sample. Great atmosphere and good place to watch the world go by

Helpful?
Thank TrevandSops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Arrived to a Dirty table and waitress wiped crumbs off with her hand, thats it, no towel no cleanser. Tried to order the margarita special that the waitress was unaware of so she had to read the sign at the door to verify. The lime marg was awful but my wife did enjoy her strawberry margarita. Tried to order a Med rare burger for dinner but was told they could only be cooked med well. Should have walked out after the third strike but ordered the fish and chips as an alternative. Strike 4 as the fish was soggy and limp. Only ate half which is about all I could stomach. Will never go back on our next visit. Will end up at The Balkan across the street as it was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 198Frequentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Owner at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Good afternoon thank you for your response on trip advisor. I apologize for the sub par service and product provided to you on your visit to the elk and oarsman. The incidents you made referance to do not meet our standards of service or product quality. I am hoping you will send me a note to info@elkandoarsman.com and I can get more information with the intention of improving our performance. We take your comments very seriously and want to work at raising our standards consistently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing