We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey”

Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hockey”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a good quick food NF catch some hockey after a conference. Service was great, atmosphere was great, tv's not bad. Good steak, great elk beer on special. Will go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Guest Relations Manager at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. Happy to hear we will be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    357
    151
    48
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great bar to eat in in Banff, prices are not too expensive, good beers, not too noisy.
Decore is bar style, wood floors bar .. everything is wood, this adds to the atmosphere of busyness and buzz. There's nothing fancy about this place, but it has great service, decent menu and prices are fair. Not that easy to spot, there's a small doorway to this upstairs place, get a window st and watch the hustle of the ever busier Banff Avenue. They normally have good daily specials, such as "wings Wednesday" .. look out for those.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sellersalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Guest Relations Manager at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are so please you enjoyed all we have to offer. Thank you for posting such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The food is great as is the service. I have a garlic allergy and the waiter went out of his way to suggest alternatives to the dish I had chosen; eventually substituting various items to make a really tasty alternative. Nothing was too much trouble, even though the restaurant was full to capacity and he was also looking after two large groups. We went three times in the week we stayed in Banff and were never disappointed. There's always a great buzz and if you can get a window seat the view over Banff Avenue is a bonus. The special each night is great value, especially the steak sandwich (plain bread for me!!!) and ribs. Definitely recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianandRobScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Guest Relations Manager at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are always so delighted to read a review like this one and very happy to hear all our staff did their best to accommodated your allergy. Hope to see you again on your next trip to the rockies. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Banff”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch with my Aunty. It was a special for any elk meals. We ordered the elk burger. It had an amazing pineapple chutney that the waitress told us made the burger....it did. I was a bit skeptical about the elk at first but I'm glad I ordered this. Truly the best burger I've had in a long time. The view of banff main street from the second floor was also a treat;-) maybe another new fave restaurant for me. Next time I'll be sure to go with my husband. Oh, and service was great too:-) definately go and try an elk burger:-)

Helpful?
1 Thank saskatoongirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Guest Relations Manager at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Happy to hear you had a pleasant meal here. Thank you for posting such a great review we are looking forward to serving you have your husband next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Recently went to Elk and Oarsman on a Saturday night with a group of 9. We had reservations and arrived a little early, however our table was ready to go. The restaurant was very busy. When we got there, lots of hockey on the many TV's, no March Madness so we asked for a change in channel and the staff immediate got a TV changed for us.

We started with a few appies, chicken wings, good, and the smoked salmon, very good. Also had an order of nachos which was huge, and very nice. An order of bruschetta was also made, and this was my favorite appy of the evening.

Our table had several different mains, although several of us ordered the baby back ribs. The ribs were excellent and we all raved. Very large portion size, and tasty ribs, with a good amount of BBQ flavouring, yummy. Our table also ordered a couple of steaks and burgers, both of which looked good, and by all accounts tasted great. As I mentioned the portions were large, so no one had room for desert.

A fun place with great food, we will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkandOarsmen, Guest Relations Manager at Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. All the staff love to read reviews like this. We hope you think of us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing