We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak in a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant

Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant
119 Banff Avenue | Second Floor Above The Ski Hub, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: American, Pub, Canadian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Television, Waitstaff
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Steak in a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A fun night with good food, good service and lots going on with sport on screens accompanying the meal!
Steaks are a specialty which are cooked to order and very tasty with superb sweet potato chips in my case. There is a special night each week where steaks are half price!! Coming from the UK it was great to experience the Canadian version.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMcC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice beer, nice food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's a combinaison of a sport's bar and an Irish Pub, the staff is very nice. The manager spoke with everybody, is amazing! I went during NHL playoffs, every wall as a TV!

I eat the calamari with the chipotle/strawberry mayonnaise, it's very good. After that, I get the bison burger, very good also. The beer is not very expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Come here for one of the best lunch views in town. We ordered the poutine with braised elk and a Caesar salad. We also enjoyed a couple beers. Service was prompt and friendly. Would go again and try other dishes. You pay for the view though. $36 for the two dishes and two beers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“fun and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

good food choices, accommodating staff for food allergies. I love to eat in places where staff is aware of my food intolerance because it makes me feel safe. The menu was incredibly rich and, even if I had to limit my choices, my meat and vegetables and mushroom skillet were amazing.
Great patio upstairs for warm sunny days with an unbeatable view of the mountains around.
Big screens everywhere for sports lovers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8rmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“nice place shame about the taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Soggy undercooked fries! Mushy fries are gross , a good pub should have a good staple of fish and chips and the oil was old and batter taistless.
ALL the glasses were dirty and some had lip prints on them..
The pizza looked like a freezer pizza, and the cheese didnt melt usually caused by cheese being frozen.
Rye and Coke should taste good, but they used such a cheap bar grade of Rye... not again, I would rather eat at East Side Marios

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allen(Ayan)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#