We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant

Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
228 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went there on a Saturday night, around 10pm for a late night meal. We all ordered a half salad and the butternut squash soup. The soup was served in a huge bowl and we were all very pleased with the portion sizes. We sat along the window overlooking Banff Avenue. Very cool.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TnJAdvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    299
    129
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The pub are good ambiance friendly staff.
The food are very tasty.
I very like my experience there.
Its not to expensive overall its a good place to go with ur friend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karinee031290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good dinner with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Frendly Canadian bar restaurant loads of space so always will get a table. Very basic but nice food? Deor a traditional bar so no need to dress

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were regulars on our last trip so couldn't wait to get back to the Elk but were a little disappointed that the food was not quite as good this time. That said, it's a nice place, the staff are friendly and the food is good. Recommend visiting if the advertised daily special appeals to you as they offer great deals on food and drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AWA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

After coming to this pub for the first we have been back several times now, the food is excellent. Great value for money, good selection of food and the staff are very friendly. We love this place and will always pop in if we are in Banff again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing