We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came highly recommended”

Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Came highly recommended”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When talking to the locals this place came highly recommended. It was one of the busier venues we visited and I can see why. Good deals on food and drink. Pub atmosphere with live sports. Very popular with both the locals and tourists. Had a chicken sandwich with two very generous sides and my boyfriend raved about the steak sandwich. Would go back, no doubt about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McClusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    357
    151
    48
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem of a place!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

get along three! This was my favorite spot for meeting friends for lunch and popping up to the roof in the summer to chill with a beer. Don't know if they still do the Elk nachos but they were awesome with beers and icehockey! Keep it up guys!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

elk nachoes and wings are a home run, usually have great drink specials, not to mention a great mountain view.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been to the Elk a number of times over the years, and it never disappoints!

Great atmosphere, and great beers. It is the place to go to watch a game!

The food is phenomenal, and I am a fan of their tomato soup and Elk and Bison burgers.

As I mentioned, I have been here like 100 times, and I have always been served well. The food has always been top. I have never left hungry or disappointed with either quality or service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pub and eatry!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a great pub that always has some sport playing and great food. The only sad thing I can say is they changed up there meat platter to something less epic. Don’t let this stop you from stopping in to eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere... our even just people watch from the windows at the passer byers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing