We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GOOD PUB FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant

Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

elk nachoes and wings are a home run, usually have great drink specials, not to mention a great mountain view.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    270
    115
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been to the Elk a number of times over the years, and it never disappoints!

Great atmosphere, and great beers. It is the place to go to watch a game!

The food is phenomenal, and I am a fan of their tomato soup and Elk and Bison burgers.

As I mentioned, I have been here like 100 times, and I have always been served well. The food has always been top. I have never left hungry or disappointed with either quality or service.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pub and eatry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a great pub that always has some sport playing and great food. The only sad thing I can say is they changed up there meat platter to something less epic. Don’t let this stop you from stopping in to eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere... our even just people watch from the windows at the passer byers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Popped in for a meal. It was ok i suppose, nothing special, Good service though. The bar man was a bit off hand with us though when we went to sit at the bar after our meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jellydog
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good most of the time, but can be poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My hubby & I are regular visitors to Banff & have tried many different places to eat & drink, the Elk started out really good, reasonably priced beers & food, good menu & food, typical fare is burgers, salads, steaks, fries, etc.

Service is always good & friendly.
However we have eaten there on a few occasions more recently when the food has been mediocre, quality not as good & arrives cold from the kitchen.
We will however go back & try again as there's always a good atmosphere & it's a good spot for people watching.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing