We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”

Discover Banff Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.15*
and up
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
Ranked #3 of 27 Tours in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Banff Tours provides small personalized tours in Banff National Park. We offer activities in both summer and winter for individuals and groups. Our tours are smaller giving you plenty of time to chat with our friendly, local and professionally trained guides.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We did the Banff and Lake Louise tour. I will be honest...it wasn't what we were expecting. We thought we would get an actual tour of Lake Louise and Banff. But all they did was drive us to the Chateau Lake Louise hotel and left us there for 4 hours to look around ourselves.
The lake was beautiful and there were some activities to do including ice skating, snow shoeing and a sleigh ride. There were also some shops at the hotel however they were very expensive so we couldnt afford to buy anything there. So we were pretty bored sitting around the hotel. I probably wouldn't have booked the tour if I knew it was just going to be that.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,172
    205
    50
    43
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Banff and Lake Louise”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

MIA was delightful, the scenery was stunning.
Hot chocolate and a cookie were most welcome half way through the tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susanmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very refreshing and enriching experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The tour through the beautiful icy Johnston Canyon was lead by a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. He provided us with a wide range of information from how to stay warm on-25C to how the Rocky mountains have been formed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank serban12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent to discover this beautiful town”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I took the guide to discover the sightseeing of the town where I m living. Really, It was very intersting, I could see a lot of animals and I really deeper into the Banff's history. The guy who was the guide was excellent, he is very knowledgable about the wildlife and the town. I visited Hoodoos, Bow Falls, Lake Minewaka, Surprise Corner and Fairmont Banff Spring.
Of course you can visit this places without the tour, but is really interesting realize it with someone who knows about the history, wildlife and tips.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overview tour!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I took the fall tour and had a fantastic time. It was a great way to see many of the sites around Banff in a limited time, especially if, like me, you're a little bit nervous about driving a rental car in the snow. One thing to keep in mind, though, is that during the slow season (I went in November) , the tours may not go every day. They have a minimum number of people for the tour to go out, and this is not always met. So, be sure to call ahead to make sure the date you'd like to go is actually heading out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Banff Tours also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Discover Banff Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing