We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discover Banff Tours

Discover Banff Tours
Book In Advance
$54.96*
and up
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
Ranked #3 of 23 Tours in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Banff Tours provides small personalized tours in Banff National Park. We offer activities in both summer and winter for individuals and groups. Our tours are smaller giving you plenty of time to chat with our friendly, local and professionally trained guides.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a fairly miserable day weather wise in banff and had little hope for the the tour. But from the moment we were collected by Nate he really went above and beyond to ensure we had a fantastic trip. Along the way we scouted for wildlife and got great shots of a black bear, elk and deer. The ice fields explorer is a must see. Would definitely recommend this tour if the quality of tour guide is as good as Nate you cannot go wrong.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crassusg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    179
    49
    39
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous introduction to Banff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I originally thought this may have been a tour within town that you could easily do without. However this tour was fabulous & well worth the cost. A great tour of town, including history of the town, loads of picture opportunities & included Lake Minnewanker, the hoodoos & Bankhead. Hugh was a knowledgeable & passionate guide who made the tour very enjoyable. Definitely recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical trip to see the glaciers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a fantastic experience! I would HIGHLY recommend doing the Discover Banff Glacier tour. Our tour guide Jeff was friendly and knowledgeable and looked after us superbly - he is clearly passionate about what he does. The smaller groups make for a more intimate tour with stops at sites like Lake Louise, Lake Waterfowl, Crowfoot glacier and Columbia icefield to name a few. There are many personal touches to this tour (which I won't spoil by listing here) which make it that much more memorable. Jeff did an outstanding job of making sure that we had the best seats in the house to view the Athabasca glacier!

My husband and I only had 2 days in Banff and this tour was great. We were picked up at our hotel, lunch was provided. If the weather is poor, don't let that deter you! It was raining in Banff and we still managed to see a lot and even had some sun while we enjoyed Athabasca.

It is a full day trip, but well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownCaitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Evening Wildlife Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Magda was a terrific guide and very knowledgeable about Banff and its wildlife - lots of entertaining stories and a great deal of information given about the black and grizzly bears, elk, moose and the rest of the local wildlife, She answered all the questions, both simple and difficult, with the same degree of seriousness and made the whole trip a pleasure. The highlight of the trip being the time spent observing a female black bear with her three cubs, just on the verge of the road up to Norquay. Some great photos - not attached as not yet downloaded to computer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank timandy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picture Butte, ab
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Columbia Ice Fields Parkway Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was an outstanding tour. Our guide Hugh was a wealth of information and kept the tour fun and entertaining. Hugh was also very efficient, keeping up on schedule while providing us plenty of photo opportunities. At no time did I feel rushed or hurried. Excellent experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Banff Tours also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Discover Banff Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing