We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cracking steak!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cracking steak!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have eaten at a fair few Kegs now but I have to say that this location was excellent, far better than the downtown location. We both had the filet mignon albeit hubby had a blue cheese topping and I had the bacon wrapped one. Both cooked to perfection as requested. The caesar salad to start was more than enough for both of us (it came as part of the classic meal) plus the meal comes with bread which is served warm. The tourist resorts also charge more for their meals eg. Calgary was around $3/$4 cheaper per item and the wine a couple of dollars less per glass of wine. All in all, a fab meal once again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vicsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    449
    150
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good holy moly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading the reviews we were unsure if we should head here for something to eat but as it's right next door to our Hotel we thought, why not. We were not disappointed.

We ordered Prime Rib sandwich and a steak sandwich and my boyfriend who considers himself something of an expert on anything meat related, being a butchers son was moved to tears by his meal and I came close. The portion size was perfect, enough to fill you right up but not so large you ended wasting half of it or felt uncomfortable trying to move afterwards.

Normally I struggle to eat a meal when out in a restaurant but before I knew it my plate was cleared and I was left sighing happily.

The service was good, the waiter was friendly and informative and fairly attentive.

Inside it was quiet and relaxed, the decor was perfectly appropriate and really set the tone of the room.

I really can't recommend this highly enough. The Kiwi Tini was delicious and refreshing and if you feel the need for desert the fudge brownie is beautiful too.

Price wise, I found it expensive ( I'm quite reluctant to spend too much money on eating out) but absolutely worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just another Keg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Keg on our way through Banff. We were sat at the back it was cold. The Calamari was lacking flavour if it wasn't for the fried jalapeño with it could have been fried rubber. My wife had the blue cheese filet it was excellent. I had BBQ chicken the taste was good nothing special. The stuffed potato is always good but how can you mess up potato, butter, sour cream & bacon. My daughter had the Thai chicken it was horrible.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Steak was top notch, desert was even better. One of the best meals we have had in Banff so far... Special mention to Keith who helped us out with the best picks off the menu, great service

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

food poor on both times we ate here. very expensive for very little quality,. service average but the bar staff are the best. 5* for the staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RjColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing