We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unusual presentation of Mexican entrees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Mexican, Canadian, Soups, Steakhouse, Spanish, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unusual presentation of Mexican entrees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Presentation of food was very Imaginative and unusual.Tapas, Mexican entrees (like quesadillas and fajitas), and Italian entrees (bison chorizo penne - yum!) made a menu a large group would like. We also had an unusual visitor at the big windows - an overfed deer grazed on the flowers outside while gawked on the inside! The service was excellent, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kss740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    141
    53
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table as it was pretty busy when we arrived.

We ordered tapas and lots of choice for vegetarians! We enjoyed our meal very much, the food was delicious!

If we are in Banff again we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m12-c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuan Islands,Wa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good braised lamb.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Did a one night at Irwin's and instead of leaving the property ate dinner at the bar in El Toro, asked the Barkeep her recommendation and it was the braised lamb shoulder, I grew up eating lamb and she didn't need to twist my arm. This was very good lamb, tender and juicy and seasoned well with rosemary, first bite reminded me of my mother's lamb shanks I loved as a kid, served with perfectly done veggie's and a nice chunk of french bread to soak up the juices with. Only complaint was that a thicker sauce would have been nice (and more of it!) but the flavor was spot on. Worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4015c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Less expensive than many of the very expensive restaurants in Banff. Especially if you order some of the Mexican dishes. We really enjoyed the Quesadillas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb restaurant, would recommend to anyone visiting Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful place! Fantastic staff. Well experienced, they care about each and every customers service! Went above and beyond to get me a pickle (made by chef's mom-- it was fantastic!!!). Would recommend in a heart beat if you're browsing restaurants in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllaSivc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing