We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast at El Toro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cozy atmosphere! Tapas, Chateaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast at El Toro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was nice experience, the attendants were very friendly and the food was tasty. We reached on time and were welcome by attendants. The menu was broad enough, the service was prompt, the food was warm. Everything likeable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roysudipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    166
    61
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fantastic chateaubriand, which we had on advice of another TA review. WOWZA. Margaritas are better at Chili's though. Overall prompt service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The service was friendly & attentive although the food service was slow. The food was pricey; $30 for breakfast but the portions were large and quality ingredients were used. I was a little put-off by the $3 surcharge if you wanted syrup for the $10 crepes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Right down the block from where we were staying, this in-hotel establishment leans toward Spanish fare such as tapas as well as some fine beef dishes and even Tex Mex. For example, we had the Chicken Fajitas. If you think all Fajitas plates are similar in quality, taste, preparation, think again. Excellent wine choices. The beef selection enjoyed by another table looked so appetizing. Casual fine dining. Pricey - but worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrot434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our breakfast meal very much. Everything was fresh and the service was outstanding :) Would dine there again for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing