We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff - good value food”
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cozy atmosphere! Tapas, Chateaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Helpful staff - good value food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ate here lots of times during my 3 month stay in Banff - usually good food, and speedy service - and as we were a big group they organised a buffet style serving for us which was great.

The staff were very helpful and tried to cater for special requests. The bar in El Toro was very nice and welcome after a hard day on the slopes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    173
    62
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Banff and had dinner at El Toro and it was a great experience. Very good tapas and beef steak, as well.

Also good wine list and service.

We highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local favourite!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I live in Banff, and this is my favorite restaurant in town. For breakfast the breakfast burrito is amazing and for dinner I love to go Mondays for Mexican $12 and Thursday for Chateaubriand for two $55, they also have a fantastic lamb shoulder. My servers have always been extreamly plesent, helpful and enjoyable. The music they play makes you wanna do a salsa dance. It is hands down the best place in Banff for great food made fresh!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontariogirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate in this restaurant for breakfast and a couple of evening meals. The food was excellent and the children's breakfast portions were huge. We would just have liked to see a children's evening meal menu and then we would have taken even more meals there. By highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Balabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ate there everyday!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at Irwin's for three days. Really enjoyed El Toro's breakfasts. great food at a really good price!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MochaRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing