We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem of a Restaurant”
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cozy atmosphere! Tapas, Chateaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Kelowna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Its a little walk - 5-10mins max- from the town centre but well worth leaving the town centre for this amazing place, We had the Tapas, but Pizza, Pasta and Steak options also available. And a kids menu too. Food was outstanding and so was the service. So refreshing to be able to go to a family friendly restaurant with quality food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank claire e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    174
    62
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had dinner one night at this hotel, and breakfast one morning. Both were excellent.

Breakfast:
This is a good spot in Banff for breakfast. The prices are reasonable, the food is good, and the portions are good. I had good service when I went.

Dinner:
The food selection was great. There are a variety of gluten free and vegetarian options, if you choose. I chose to have a few tapas and wine for dinner. I highly recommend the tequila prawns. The peach cobbler they offer for dessert was also fantastic.
The service at dinner was also very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robnsue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chateaubriand Yumminess”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Turned up at 8pm for a last minute Valentines meal. Ordered the set menu of soup or salad, Chateaubriand followed by a warm chocolate cake of duo of cheesecakes all of this was $69 for 2.

Service was friendly and fast. The steak was delicious, moist and super rich with the gravy and the Bearnaise sauce. The chocolate was also fabulous and gooey. Yum!! Will definitely be returning. Great value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible service. Rude waitresses. Unbelievable.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had great recommendations about this place.

Unfortunately, the service was awful, rude ... And that is masking it!

We did not try the food. We left before it arrived.

For a 5 star tourist area such as Banff, I expect good service at the minimum.

Pick up your game please management - this is clearly on you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We ate here on a 'fajitas' deal night and the food was fantastic! The service was fast and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing