We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'd been having some difficulty getting both good food and good service in one restaurant in Banff. However, this was one of the few places I found it. Now, it might be because I ate there a bit after normal dinner time (I think it was 8 or so). But, the waitress was very attentive and it was fascinating to watch them work. The food was both Spanish and Mexican (I went for a standard Mexican fajita platter which was excellent). Drinks were also quite good. I highly recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    146
    55
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasting a bit of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We attended during the Bon Appetit Banff event with another couple. We chose to share one order of their signature Chateaubriand which was on special and two orders of the event's tapas menu. This gave us a selection of eight tapas and two desserts for sharing -everyone got a small sampling of everything. By the time the Chateaubriand was served it was the perfect amount for four to share, especially when you still needed room for the dessert sampling. This meal option provided us with enough tasting of their menu that all agreed to return for the regular meal.

This was a popular location and reservations are strongly recommended. Fortunately we had a later seating and things quieted down considerably.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit menu poorly executed, but would try their regular menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The serving size in the El Toro Bon Appetit menu were small, more like samples. We'd have enjoyed less selection and more to eat, and would have felt we'd have got better value for the meal. The stuffed portobello was yummy as was the hot chocolate callebaut cake! Unfortunately, the quesadillas were a bit anorexic and were nearly bare on the inside. The server was friendly and very busy. She forgot to order our dessert on time so it would be ready when we finished our dinner, but she came over and apologized. I feel the experience would have been better outside of the Bon Appetit menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“GREAT Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Had great service and extremely tasty well prepared food. Most enjoyable experience. Our server was extremely helpful

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mexican food done right in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is not much Mexican fare available in Banff, but if you have a craving for it, this is the place to go. We went here our first night in town. Nice atmosphere, very cozy and it wasn't that busy even in high season. It appears you can make reservations though if you like. We had a burrito, quesadilla, and nachos and dessert and everything was excellent. They did have other food besides Mexican, but we had a craving for Mexican food that night. Slightly pricey but it was def. worth the quality.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinteacher1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing