We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cozy atmosphere! Tapas, Chateaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'd been having some difficulty getting both good food and good service in one restaurant in Banff. However, this was one of the few places I found it. Now, it might be because I ate there a bit after normal dinner time (I think it was 8 or so). But, the waitress was very attentive and it was fascinating to watch them work. The food was both Spanish and Mexican (I went for a standard Mexican fajita platter which was excellent). Drinks were also quite good. I highly recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    167
    62
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasting a bit of everything”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We attended during the Bon Appetit Banff event with another couple. We chose to share one order of their signature Chateaubriand which was on special and two orders of the event's tapas menu. This gave us a selection of eight tapas and two desserts for sharing -everyone got a small sampling of everything. By the time the Chateaubriand was served it was the perfect amount for four to share, especially when you still needed room for the dessert sampling. This meal option provided us with enough tasting of their menu that all agreed to return for the regular meal.

This was a popular location and reservations are strongly recommended. Fortunately we had a later seating and things quieted down considerably.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit menu poorly executed, but would try their regular menu.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The serving size in the El Toro Bon Appetit menu were small, more like samples. We'd have enjoyed less selection and more to eat, and would have felt we'd have got better value for the meal. The stuffed portobello was yummy as was the hot chocolate callebaut cake! Unfortunately, the quesadillas were a bit anorexic and were nearly bare on the inside. The server was friendly and very busy. She forgot to order our dessert on time so it would be ready when we finished our dinner, but she came over and apologized. I feel the experience would have been better outside of the Bon Appetit menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“GREAT Service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Had great service and extremely tasty well prepared food. Most enjoyable experience. Our server was extremely helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Mexican food done right in Banff”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is not much Mexican fare available in Banff, but if you have a craving for it, this is the place to go. We went here our first night in town. Nice atmosphere, very cozy and it wasn't that busy even in high season. It appears you can make reservations though if you like. We had a burrito, quesadilla, and nachos and dessert and everything was excellent. They did have other food besides Mexican, but we had a craving for Mexican food that night. Slightly pricey but it was def. worth the quality.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinteacher1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing