We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
Reserve with OpenTable
La Terrazza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Description: The Terrace is excited and proud to present it's transformation into La Terrazza. Our new menu offers freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown Banff.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We looked up the No. 1 restaurant in Banff and discovered it was just downstairs in our hotel. It definitely lived up to the reviews. As someone with a small appetite it was great to not be overwhelmed by huge amounts of food on the plate - although I guess this would be a bad thing if you had a big appetite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Weyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    64
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great service and an exceptional meal! Would definately eat there again. My husband is very picky about eating in restaurants as he is a chef. We checked the menu before choosing and knew right away that this was his type of restaurant. The menu is small but everything we ate was awesome! We will be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A quiet gem..best dining experience of 10-day trans-Canada excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our party of 4 adults stayed a couple nights at Banff Park Lodge amidst a tran-canada rail excursion Toronto to Vancouver.....an arrival night decision to dine in the hotel "Terrace Restaurant" was one of the best of the trip. We were seated in a near-private quiet corner of the otherwise surprisingly sparsely filled, tastefully decorated,very comfortable restaurant.
Our visting European waitress was superb, possibly surpassed by the quality of the appetizers and entrees we chose. All in all, the best dining experience of our 10-day excursion !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I attended a large dinner party at the Terrace and was amazed at how beautiful it was. The walls of windows were beautiful and the plants that outlined the restaurant were a really nice touch. The variety on the menu was so vast it was hard to choose just one item! I had an excellent meal (terrace salad and elk medallions) in a great environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily5995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening with superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I had a night out in Banff and chose this Restaurant based on the reviews here. The ambient was pleasant, very greenhouse like if you're into plants. The view of the mountains during dusk was very nice as well. The cocktails were excellent, surprised they had a basil option for a mojito, but I had the standard mint one.
We had two appetizers to share, the Terrace Salad and the Maple Smoked Duck Breast. Both were very good, I was intrigued about the "pickled wild mushrooms" in the salad which did not fail to impress, and the most amazing flavours busted out of the obviously in house smoked Duck Breast.
For our mains we had the Duo of Veal and the AAA New York. The tenderness of the Veal was amazing, literally you could cut it with a fork, and the mascarpone polenta with the Brussels sprouts were remarkable, what took the surprise factor prize out of that dish was the smoked tomato, a very impressive flavour combination of a poached like skinless tomato with a strong smoke flavour. Superb.
The service was good, nothing to write home about but nothing wrong with it either. Prices were ok, average of $12 for the appetizers and $34 for the mains. The wine pairings were stop on!
The surprise of the night was that my valet parking was free and they washed my car.. sweet! I, of course, left a pretty hefty "tip"

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Calyponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing