We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of creole in the snow”
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
Ranked #6 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Full Breakfast menu is served till 2:00pm daily. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A taste of creole in the snow”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Something a bit different in Banff. My son and I had dinner here during our holiday and enjoyed it very much.
The kiwi waitress was very helpful and attentive and the food was yummy. Definitely recommend the frogs legs for something different.

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    391
    118
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great breakfast choices”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

WOW -- if you haven't tried this place for breakfast when you're in Banff, you're really missing something. It's on a side street just off Banff Avenue in the heart of downtown. The ambiance is New Orleans style. The choices for breakfast are great and my banana caramel French toast was perfectly divine! Prices are quite reasonable, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great service, good food but small portions”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We always go to the same places when we go to Banff and wanted to try something different. We loved the decor and atmosphere and the service was great. Very helpful and friendly staff. We tried the alligator bites and they were very good. The main dish was good, but we did find the portions a little small. It was ok for my but my fiancé could have used a bit more food. Overall we were happy with the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice and spicy for a change!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tooloulou's is a small cajun restaurant just off Banff Avenue. There was a warm welcome and extensive menu, a relief to find no burger & chips or the canadian dish of poutine (chips, cheese & gravy!) on the menu, but great to have something spicy. I recommend the popcorn shrimp. Also had blackened mahi mahi fish which was lovely but could have been spicier for my palette.
Friendly efficient service.
Definitely worth a visit, open all day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening starting with alligator bites, followed by steak. It was a good steak. It could have done with a bit longer cooking. Overall a lovely evening and meal. The staff are so friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing