We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A taste of creole in the snow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Full Breakfast menu is served till 2:00pm daily. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A taste of creole in the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Something a bit different in Banff. My son and I had dinner here during our holiday and enjoyed it very much.
The kiwi waitress was very helpful and attentive and the food was yummy. Definitely recommend the frogs legs for something different.

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    254
    83
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great breakfast choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

WOW -- if you haven't tried this place for breakfast when you're in Banff, you're really missing something. It's on a side street just off Banff Avenue in the heart of downtown. The ambiance is New Orleans style. The choices for breakfast are great and my banana caramel French toast was perfectly divine! Prices are quite reasonable, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service, good food but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We always go to the same places when we go to Banff and wanted to try something different. We loved the decor and atmosphere and the service was great. Very helpful and friendly staff. We tried the alligator bites and they were very good. The main dish was good, but we did find the portions a little small. It was ok for my but my fiancé could have used a bit more food. Overall we were happy with the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice and spicy for a change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tooloulou's is a small cajun restaurant just off Banff Avenue. There was a warm welcome and extensive menu, a relief to find no burger & chips or the canadian dish of poutine (chips, cheese & gravy!) on the menu, but great to have something spicy. I recommend the popcorn shrimp. Also had blackened mahi mahi fish which was lovely but could have been spicier for my palette.
Friendly efficient service.
Definitely worth a visit, open all day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening starting with alligator bites, followed by steak. It was a good steak. It could have done with a bit longer cooking. Overall a lovely evening and meal. The staff are so friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing