We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good food but small portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $36
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Full Breakfast menu is served till 2:00pm daily. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great service, good food but small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We always go to the same places when we go to Banff and wanted to try something different. We loved the decor and atmosphere and the service was great. Very helpful and friendly staff. We tried the alligator bites and they were very good. The main dish was good, but we did find the portions a little small. It was ok for my but my fiancé could have used a bit more food. Overall we were happy with the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    336
    99
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice and spicy for a change!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tooloulou's is a small cajun restaurant just off Banff Avenue. There was a warm welcome and extensive menu, a relief to find no burger & chips or the canadian dish of poutine (chips, cheese & gravy!) on the menu, but great to have something spicy. I recommend the popcorn shrimp. Also had blackened mahi mahi fish which was lovely but could have been spicier for my palette.
Friendly efficient service.
Definitely worth a visit, open all day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening starting with alligator bites, followed by steak. It was a good steak. It could have done with a bit longer cooking. Overall a lovely evening and meal. The staff are so friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute and Tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and staff. The menu choices were great and unique for Alberta/Canada. I had the crab cake po boy and my husband had they're standard burger. Both were tasty, fresh and prepared quickly. While the food wasn't superb or anything to go out of your way for, it was a nice cuisine change to mix it up during our trip.

Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Do not go there at lunch time. We went for a late breakfast (served until 2PM) and interacted 3 times only with our waitress. Once to bring us a bottle of water, the next to take our orders, and the 3rd time we had to put on our coats in order to get the tab. I understand she was busy, but the place being full, could they not afford to hire another waitress? There are maybe 12 tables in the whole place. Otherwise the food IS good, amazing infact. Don't go if you're in a hurry (which we were).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooner1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Owner at Tooloulou's, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I was very sorry to hear of your less than stellar experience with service at Tooloulou's. This is, of course, not the experience that we strive to provide our guests. I can only say that several of our staff were suffering from a flu bug that week and that everyone else was trying to pick up the slack. It is very unfortunate that our circumstances affected your dining experience with us and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing