We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Maple Leaf Steak & Seafood
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 6/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #35 of 149 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Description: Mountain view dining, local hospitality and excellent food in the heart of downtown Banff. The Maple Leaf is an iconic landmark serving brunch, lunch & dinner daily. We celebrate the best of Canadian cuisine with a menu inspired by the diverse ingredients found throughout Canada. Alberta beef, game, fresh fish, and coastal seafood are showcased next to an award-winning Canadian wine list. Looking for the perfect date spot or celebrating a special occasion? The Maple Leaf features a cozy intimate atmosphere complete with four private rooms, ideal for your next celebration or event.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

The food and service was great. This restaurant is owned by the same family as other restaurants in Banff (Park, Bison, and a pizza place and Greek restaurant that I cannot remember name of). All are great.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 132seang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,072 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2016

My husband and I had a late lunch at the Maple Leaf in April 2016. I had the grilled chicken and he had a burger - the food was delicious! Our server was also excellent but the staff member/host who greeted us was not at all pleasant. It truly annoyed her that we were planning to eat lunch so late and could not commit to the later dinner hour. Our advice - eat here whenever you like, regardless of staff behavior, because the food is just plain great!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank travelcouple2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Haute cuisine in an UN-haughty town

We chose the Maple Leaf Grille not only for its proximity to the Banff town center and our hotel but for its reputation. Should the opportunity arise to be near Banff again I would travel a great many miles out of my way to dine there.

The first floor Wine Room in which we dined faced onto a vibrant Caribou Street on a Thursday summer's eve: our table provided ever-changing visuals as we savored the victuals provided by an outstanding chef. That room, caddy-corner to an elegant bar, was cozy and quiet despite having every table occupied by diners.

The reservation for the dinner was made months in advance of our time in Banff out of concern that a table would not be available at any hour on the one evening we had in Banff. The restaurant wasn't crowded that particular evening but the place has exactly the kind of menu and vibe that could have generated lines out the door waiting for a table to open up.

The food was fabulous and cooked to perfection. The onion soup, while a tad expensive, was the best I've ever had (and I order onion soup in almost every city to which I travel). It was also the largest bowl of soup that I've ever been served - well worth the expense. For our entrees we both ordered fish- one, a halibut and the other, sustainably raised sea bass. We came away extremely satisfied with our dinners. The portions were right-sized, the food was fresh and zesty with flavor as large the Canadian Rockies. Should we ever return to Banff and based upon the experience with Maple Leaf Grille, this traveler - originally from the shores of the Chesapeake Bay - might even be enticed to try their crab cakes. Our server, Jessica, was attentive, made useful suggestions and took great care of us.

The wine list was extensive rather more than ample for this dining couple. Great Canadian wines were available by the bottle or half-bottle and a good selection could be had by the glass (in either 6 or 9 ounce portions). The variety and choice of liquors and cocktails were extensive enough for many a diner in this frontier town.

The dessert selection looked fabulous and I wished that I could have ordered all seven (or so) of them. Over a number of other tempting offers, I ordered the fresh berry sorbet and was not disappointed. Although it took a while for the sorbet to arrive, it came a little while after dinner coffee had arrived. The sorbet was worth the wait, and its taste attested to its freshness - it had just been frozen and plated. Amazingly good!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vermeer_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Higher end restaurant with friendly staff, good service, and very good food. It has a beautiful staircase to upstairs.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 590craige
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Well located and well presented with efficient attentive staff I am not surprised that the exterior displays photographs of dishes but no price list. It is seriously expensive, at least by British standards. Food well constructed but could be served hotter. Two mains, one and a half beers and a bottle of red from the cheaper end of the wine list set us back 175 Canadian dollars.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 819seang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf Steak & Seafood also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.